Genestealer Faction? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-13-16, 03:37 AM Thread Starter
Feed
 
Serpion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Space
Posts: 10,973
Reputation: 51
Default Genestealer Faction?

I noticed that the army symbol for the genestealer cult in WD was a curled tyranid like symbol. At first I thought this was the tyranid symbol as no symbol appears in the current tyranid dex. However it was then brought to my attention that a symbol does appear in the Leviathan supplement for the tyranid faction. It is similar, but it is not the same. It resembles a mirrored version of the symbol used by genestealers. So it appears the two are different factions?

In the WD it states to use Genestealer Cults in 40k;

"All units in the Ghosar Quintus Broodkin have the Genestealer Cult Faction. Genestealer Cults ally in exactly the same way as Tyranids, as described in the Allies section of Warhammer 40,000: The Rules."

So are they tyranids for the purpose of allying? Or like tyranids, do they as a faction ally with nobody?


Nonsense is our Salvation

Serpion5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-13-16, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Tyriks's Avatar
Tyriks's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 326
Reputation: 6
Default

If it says they have a faction of Genestealer Cult, that means they are distinct from Tyranids. So, you could have a Tyranid army with a Genestealer allied detachment or whatever.
Tyriks is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-13-16, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Rush Darling's Avatar
Rush Darling's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 129
Reputation: 7
Default

Whilst I hate that people tried to lawyer this as "Genestealers are their own individual faction and can only ally with themselves" (I'm referring to people who've never read the fluff, and have zero interest in RAI / the narrative) my angst in this particular case isn't directed at you Serpion5, as at the end of the day it is ambigious rule and makes for a valid question.

Fortunately GDubs jumped on top of the issue, with the form of a tiny statement tucked away in a white dwarf:

Rush Darling is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-13-16, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Feed
 
Serpion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Space
Posts: 10,973
Reputation: 51
Default

Ah, I missed that. Sweet.


Nonsense is our Salvation

Serpion5 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome