Possession summoning a named greater daemon ???? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-08-15, 10:12 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Warpangel's Avatar
Warpangel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 176
Reputation: 6
Default Possession summoning a named greater daemon ????

So as the title states could I use possession to summon a named greater daemon like skarbrand or fateweaver ??? In the rules it doesn't say you can or can't so what's people's opinion.
I played agains daemons last week and the guy summoned skarbrand, I didn't have a problem with it as it's
Like 300points for the top Bloodthirster now and I think 250 for skarbrand, how ever if he would have summons fate weaver I think it's maybe a different story ha ha
Warpangel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-08-15, 10:59 AM
Feed
 
Serpion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Space
Posts: 10,976
Reputation: 51
Default

Check the wording of the rules.

If it specifies that a greater daemon can be summoned, then look to see if that includes named characters.


I haven't read the daemons codex, but in the necron codex when a rule applies to a necron lord or overlord it also specifies the inclusion of named variants where applicable.

I would be inclined to think that unless it specifies that Skarbrand or Fateweaver can be summoned the same way, or unless it specifies that they have all the same special rules as a greater daemon as well as their own, then the answer is no.


Nonsense is our Salvation

Serpion5 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-12-15, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
falcoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,384
Reputation: 23
Default

The spell specifies that the psyker is turned into a Bloodthirster, Great Unlean One, Keeper of Secrets or Lord of Change. So I would say no as it doesn't specify the named deamons, that said if you really want to get funny about it there is no generic bloodthirster anymore is there? SO arguably by the same logic you can't summon a bloodthirster.

EDIT: I forget Codex: Chaos Deamons is still a thing so ignore my last point....

Me: To be honest im amazed there isn't a chaos god of not revising or at least chaos god of procrastination

MidnightSun: There will be, when enough people do it. Y'know when the Eldar were all engaging in their hedonism and Slaanesh ripped open the Eye of Terror with his creation? Slaanesh will have NOTHING on the God of Procrastination, and his vile minions will carve the galaxy asunder in a thousand year reign of blood.... Tomorrow
falcoso is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-12-15, 10:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Skarbrand =/= Bloodthirster.

GW is VERY particular on wording. 'Bloodthirster' is a model. 'Skarbrand' is a model.

Otherwise Bloodthirster could be Bloodthirster of Unfettered Rage.

Another, more recent example.

Sammael is Sammael. Ravenclaw is Sammael's speeder. The two datasheets are different. GW says they're different, so they have to be in something that says 'you can't take them both in the same army'.

Xabre is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome