Monstrous Creatures, Walkers, and Unwieldy Weapons - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-07-15, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default Monstrous Creatures, Walkers, and Unwieldy Weapons

Just a quick one for ya today. I've been playing a lot more against a lot more varied unit types and armies. Something I've commonly heard about both Walkers and Monstrous Creatures is that they always attack at Initiative in close combat with whatever weapons they have. Never questioned it because it made sense at the time, but on re-reading the rules on those unit types I can't find anything that allows them to ignore the Unwieldy rule.

Am I missing something here? There's a lot of Walkers/MCs swinging power fists like boxing gloves around here and I'm becoming confused. It would also be another actual reason to take blood talons instead of fists on a Furioso dreadnought....though that frag cannon is just too great to pass up most of the time.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-07-15, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: England
Posts: 358
Reputation: 4
Default

page 174 special rule unwieldy

a model attacking with this weapon makes pile in and fights at I1 unless its a monstrous creature or a walker
loki619 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-07-15, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

HA! Perfect. There's a lot of cross-referencing in the BRB, at times I miss stuff like this. Thanks @loki619

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-07-15, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
alt-f4's Flag is: Belgium
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Mons (Belgium)
Posts: 117
Reputation: 1
Default

I have seen the same regarding assault grenades : some people think that MC do not lower to I1 while charging due to the "Move through cover" rule, I suppose (even if I don't agree) ?

The Serrated Flame : a First Heretics army

- Primordial Truth is Humanity's only salvation -
alt-f4 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-07-15, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Derp. Point out pg. 47, Charging Through Difficult Terrain to them:

Quote:
...if at least one model in the charging unit moved through difficult terrain as part of its charge move, all of the unit's models must attack at Initiative step 1, regardless of other Initiative modifiers, even if the charging unit is not slowed by difficult terrain.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-07-15, 10:04 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Derp. Point out pg. 47, Charging Through Difficult Terrain to them:
...which is important to cross-reference with the "move through cover" rules, which merely state that the unit isn't slowed by difficult terrain when assaulting (plus the other two things).

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-07-15, 11:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Yeah...Move Through Cover doesn't counteract the rules regarding charging through terrain aside from the -2 charge move modifier, so Monstrous Creatures are indeed reduced to I1 when charging through Difficult Terrain.

I'm confused by your statement @Mossy Toes .

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-15, 12:55 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Yeah...Move Through Cover doesn't counteract the rules regarding charging through terrain aside from the -2 charge move modifier, so Monstrous Creatures are indeed reduced to I1 when charging through Difficult Terrain.

I'm confused by your statement @Mossy Toes .
I'm agreeing with you, basically. Just calling back to the earlier cross-referencing and not-straightforwardness of the rulebook & phrasing that we've been mentioning.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-15, 01:19 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

God damn it GW you have me over thinking everything!

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-15, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
alt-f4's Flag is: Belgium
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Mons (Belgium)
Posts: 117
Reputation: 1
Default

Thanks for the confirmation ;)

The Serrated Flame : a First Heretics army

- Primordial Truth is Humanity's only salvation -
alt-f4 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome