DtW: who takes it? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-02-15, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Moriouce's Avatar
Moriouce's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Borås
Posts: 2,195
Reputation: 63
Default DtW: who takes it?

Now I thought of the following scenario.
What if a blast from a witchfire hits models from more than one squad? Do both squad make a test or only the targeted squad? If both takes it, does both need to deny it or if one fails and one succedes, does the one who failed still get hit?

Good to be green

Barks Dakka Ladz: W3-D2-L3
Altansar Eldar: W3-D0-L2

Moriouce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-02-15, 08:51 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eä
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Top of page 26, BRB:

"select one of your units that was a target of the enemy's psychic power... If the Deny the Witch has been passed, the psychic power does not manifest."

So you can only pick one unit to determine whether every unit in range/under the template/beneath the Beam is hit, but you can make sure it's the unit with the best DTW roll from those that are targeted.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-02-15, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Moriouce's Avatar
Moriouce's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Borås
Posts: 2,195
Reputation: 63
Default

Thanks Mossy!

Good to be green

Barks Dakka Ladz: W3-D2-L3
Altansar Eldar: W3-D0-L2

Moriouce is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-02-15, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Top of page 26, BRB:

"select one of your units that was a target of the enemy's psychic power... If the Deny the Witch has been passed, the psychic power does not manifest."

So you can only pick one unit to determine whether every unit in range/under the template/beneath the Beam is hit, but you can make sure it's the unit with the best DTW roll from those that are targeted.
That is not entirely right Mossy

Like with shooting attacks you need to select a target. You do your 'Deny' check before resolving the power. So the blast part of the spell has not actually happened yet. So only the original target can do it.


NOW for even more fun, that not everyone knows about...
To be able to use "Jink" you need to be the target of a shooting attack and it is resolved before any roll to hit is made.
This means that if things are clustered together and you target something (A) next to something else (B). A is allowed to Jink, but B is not, as B was never the targeted model. This can be useful for hitting bikers, FMC or vehicles that stupidly go near something else (Belakor beware!). Personally I love using Griffon Mortars to trash DE Raiders and stuff like that.
mayegelt is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-02-15, 11:57 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eä
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayegelt View Post
That is not entirely right Mossy

Like with shooting attacks you need to select a target. You do your 'Deny' check before resolving the power. So the blast part of the spell has not actually happened yet. So only the original target can do it.
In the case of a large blast specifically, I suppose. In the case of a beam or nova, the text for those types of witchfires states that any affected unit can be the one to roll the Deny check.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-03-15, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Yeah, Nova says it auto targets all units in its range and beam you actually target a point on the board, the hit all units friend or foe.
But yeah the witchfires with blast have 1 selected target.
mayegelt is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-03-15, 10:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Moriouce's Avatar
Moriouce's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Borås
Posts: 2,195
Reputation: 63
Default

Thanks for clearifying guys! An apocalyptic blast will surely hit a psyker but if you can target a regular squad than it makes lot of difference.

Good to be green

Barks Dakka Ladz: W3-D2-L3
Altansar Eldar: W3-D0-L2

Moriouce is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome