Walord Traits Question! - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-24-15, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 19
Reputation: 1
Default Walord Traits Question!

If I take Kaldor Draigo as my lord of war choice along with a Librarian as my HQ choice, am I allowed to say that my Librarian is my warlord and roll for a trait with him instead of going with Kaldor Draigo's codex given warlord trait? Or is this not possible at all?

I ask only because I feel as though Draigos warlord trait is weak when not fighting daemons and would prefer a chance to roll for something better.
Konic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-24-15, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Any Character model in your Primary Detachment can be your Warlord and get a Trait, whether rolled for or pre determined like with Draigo.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-24-15, 10:42 PM
Herald of The Warp
 
Nordicus's Avatar
Nordicus's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 2,752
Reputation: 143
Default

@ntaw has it right - Although be sure to check out the wrapsheet for your character. Certain characters (Abaddon for Chaos Space Marines for example) states that if you include that character in your primary detachment, he must be the warlord.

Unless the above is stated specifically, you can choose any character to be your warlord.
Nordicus is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-24-15, 11:08 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Any Character model in your Primary Detachment can be your Warlord and get a Trait, whether rolled for or pre determined like with Draigo.
__________________
Isn't there something about having to choose any Independent Character; and if you don't have any of those, instead any Character? Don't have access to by books just now, but so that you can't have a Tactical Squad's Veteran Sergeant as a Warlord before your Librarian, or something. I'm forgetting the specifics of it, but it still doesn't affect the difference between a LoW or an HQ, so it's not too relevant to the OP's question (which has already been answered handily)

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-24-15, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

When choosing your army, you must nominate one model to be your Warlord. Unless specified otherwise, this must be a character model. If you do not have any character models in your army, then select any other model in your army to be the Warlord. The model you choose as your Warlord also determines your Primary Detachment.

So basically any character. This means that even a non independent character like a squad leader can be your warlord. Though as said above some chars say they have to be warlord. Somevsay they can never be warlord (i think a spacewolf guy has that). And in wierd situations you can have insane things be your warlord like the lead Helbrute in a Murderpack (as 1 of the 5 becomes a character and gains look out sir). Back in thr previous version of Eldar codex a Wrathlord had Monstrous Creature (character) as his type. And in Iyanden you can take a Wraithknight as leader if you wish even though it is not a character.
mayegelt is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-25-15, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 19
Reputation: 1
Default

So if I choose to take my Librarian as my warlord and roll for his warlord trait, I'm assuming Draigos codex given warlord trait cannot be used on top of what my Librarian would have rolled for.

As far as I'm aware it doesn't state that Draigo must be taken as the warlord but I will have to make sure.
Konic is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-25-15, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Yeah only the warlord gains the warlord trait. So you can't just take a load of people with warlord traits and use them all.
mayegelt is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome