Dark Angels Detachments vs. Formations Rules - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-15, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Well, think about it like you did with your list you posted in the other thread.

You had a Ravenwing Strike Force, and multiple Ravenwing Attack Squadrons.

Technically, each formation or detachment that you're using is ALLIED with each other.

So right now, your army is this:

Ravenwing Strike Force DETACHMENT (Primary Detachment).
Ravenwing Attack Squadron FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).
Ravenwing Attack Squadron FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).

Yes, these are all the same codex and book, so the fact that their allies are lost in the fact that they'er all one big happy family. But at the very core of the Detachment/Formation system, that's what happens.

Now the ALLIED DETACHMENT is a very specific rules set from the main rule book. It says you can have 1 HQ, 1-2 Troops, and then 0-1 Elite, 0-1 Fast, and 0-1 Heavy. It can't be from the same faction as your Primary Detachment.

The Siegebreaker Cohort that you mentioned can't be an ALLIED DETACHMENT, because it has its own rules and it's own very specific selections to take; no models can ever be part of two different Formations at the same time (unless we're talking something like the Lion's Blade).

So instead, you could have something like this.

Ravenwing Strike Force DETACHMENT (Primary Detachment).
Ravenwing Attack Squadron FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).
Siegebreaker Cohort FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).

or

Ravenwing Strike Force DETACHMENT (Primary Detachment).
Ravenwing Attack Squadron FORMATION DETACHMENT (ally).
White Scar ALLIED DETACHMENT (ally).

The issue that a lot of people get caught up in is that ALLIED DETACHMENT and 'ally' share a word, so people assume it's the same. Happens a LOT with Tau Empire and Farsight.

And to answer your question specifically! Allies in general simply are two parts of your army, and they interact based on the Matrix in the main rule book. General rule of thumb is that the Imperium Branches, especially marines, treat each other as Battle Brothers, which mean they may as well be one massive army. The Allied Detachment gives you almost nothing, except a way to get in another army that might not have any of its own formations yet, in just a small scoop (as few as one troop and hq).

Xabre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-15, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

An Allied Detachment gives you Objective Secured on your Troops selections, and an allied Formation will give the units in that Formation whatever rules that Formation states. In either case, there are different unit requirements.

that was fun to type.

EDIT: capitalized for @MidnightSun 's scrutiny. Feel all warm and fuzzy inside yet?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP

Last edited by ntaw; 07-06-15 at 07:49 PM.
ntaw is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-15, 07:33 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

All Allied Detachments (note the capital letters) are allied units, but not all allied units are from Allied Detachments (note the capital letters).

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-15, 09:13 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
EDIT: capitalized for @MidnightSun 's scrutiny. Feel all warm and fuzzy inside yet?
I just feel like it makes it a little more clear to add definition when you're referring to two things called allies...

But yes, I do

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-15, 09:14 PM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
EDIT: capitalized for @MidnightSun 's scrutiny. Feel all warm and fuzzy inside yet?
No idea if this is an in joke or an attempt at humour, but it was a valid comment for the sake of a rules question in a rules discussion on a rules forum. Maybe lay off the attitude, or perhaps thank him for providing correct information pertinent to the discussion.

Or, you know, pull on big boy pants and ignore it?



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-15, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Reputation: 1
Default

I agree with Vaz, let's not get into a conflict over grammar etc.

I got all my answers, thank you very much everyone!
Viciator is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-06-15, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

me including 'feeling fuzzy inside' didn't tip you off to it being a joke, eh? @Vaz , chill out. MS looks like he took it for what it was and I did edit my post to include the appropirate grammar.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP

Last edited by ntaw; 07-06-15 at 10:47 PM.
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome