Coteaz and IG - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-26-15, 10:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HokieHWT's Avatar
HokieHWT's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia
Posts: 424
Reputation: 15
Default Coteaz and IG

If I use Coteaz in a list, he becomes the Warlord correct? If this is so do I still need a HQ choice, like Lord Commissar?

Thanks!

Check out my 2nd Catachan Regiment Project Log
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=131473

Catachan Devils W6-L11-D1
Steel Legion Heavy Mech W6-L0-D0
Minotaurs and Knights W5-L1-D0




HokieHWT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-27-15, 01:48 AM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Coteaz can only be used via an Inquisitorial Detachment, and does not count as the HQ selection for your Combined Arms/Allied Detachment of Guard. You're still looking at 1 HQ and 2 Troops for Guard with the options you're familiar with, and then 1 compulsory HQ with one more optional and 3 (I want to say) optional Elites selections for the Inquisitorial Detachment.

The Inq. Detachment can be your Primary one and Coteaz can be the Warlord, but you still will need a valid HQ option from the AM 'dex.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-28-15, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HokieHWT's Avatar
HokieHWT's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia
Posts: 424
Reputation: 15
Default

Thank you much!

Check out my 2nd Catachan Regiment Project Log
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=131473

Catachan Devils W6-L11-D1
Steel Legion Heavy Mech W6-L0-D0
Minotaurs and Knights W5-L1-D0




HokieHWT is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-15, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HokieHWT's Avatar
HokieHWT's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia
Posts: 424
Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
The Inq. Detachment can be your Primary one and Coteaz can be the Warlord, but you still will need a valid HQ option from the AM 'dex.
Ntaw:

When I try to write the list in Battlescribe it keep saying that I need 2 troops choices for the Inquistion detachment, is this correct? Maybe I'm doing it wrong.

Thanks!

Check out my 2nd Catachan Regiment Project Log
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=131473

Catachan Devils W6-L11-D1
Steel Legion Heavy Mech W6-L0-D0
Minotaurs and Knights W5-L1-D0




HokieHWT is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-15, 06:02 PM
Senior Moderator
 
darkreever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey, little ways out of NYC
Posts: 6,990
Reputation: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HokieHWT View Post
When I try to write the list in Battlescribe it keep saying that I need 2 troops choices for the Inquistion detachment, is this correct? Maybe I'm doing it wrong.
Did you set the inquisitorial detachment as an inquisitorial detachment or combined arms detachment?

Just checked it on battlescribe and when the inquisition portion was set to inquisitorial detachment I was given no issues with just the one HQ.

Damnation is paved on good intentions; subtle and sugar coated or blunt and honest
A hero is someone who steps up when everyone else backs down.
Popularity is what people strive for when they lack the strength to be themselves.


Seriously, is it really that hard to write reviews without spoilers?

Reporting Posts - read this
darkreever is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-15, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HokieHWT's Avatar
HokieHWT's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia
Posts: 424
Reputation: 15
Default

That fixed it! Thanks Dark

Check out my 2nd Catachan Regiment Project Log
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=131473

Catachan Devils W6-L11-D1
Steel Legion Heavy Mech W6-L0-D0
Minotaurs and Knights W5-L1-D0




HokieHWT is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-15, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quick quick! Yeah, you gotta scroll forever sometimes to find the right Detachment/Codex combo. Sometimes my Battlescribe likes to sort it by alphabet, sometimes it likes randomizing it. Such fun...when it doesn't crash.

Battlescribe has been upsetting me more and more as the updates come out. Maybe I need a new phone or something, but god damn it used to run perfectly.

EDIT: also, @HokieHWT if you want to tag a person in a post to get their attention without quoting stuff toss an @ symbol in front of their user name.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP

Last edited by ntaw; 05-29-15 at 09:11 PM.
ntaw is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-15, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HokieHWT's Avatar
HokieHWT's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia
Posts: 424
Reputation: 15
Default

@ntaw thanks for the tip!

Check out my 2nd Catachan Regiment Project Log
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=131473

Catachan Devils W6-L11-D1
Steel Legion Heavy Mech W6-L0-D0
Minotaurs and Knights W5-L1-D0




HokieHWT is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-15, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HokieHWT's Avatar
HokieHWT's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia
Posts: 424
Reputation: 15
Default

The real interesting thing is, at least to me, is this list is for league play called "Road to the NOVA Open", local qualifiers and fundraising for the tournament and you have to send in your attachments and list for everyone to see. My Primary Attachment is listed as Inquisition and secondary AM, even though it's only 100 points and 1 model of Inquisition...

Check out my 2nd Catachan Regiment Project Log
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=131473

Catachan Devils W6-L11-D1
Steel Legion Heavy Mech W6-L0-D0
Minotaurs and Knights W5-L1-D0




HokieHWT is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-29-15, 11:11 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HokieHWT View Post
My Primary Attachment is listed as Inquisition and secondary AM, even though it's only 100 points and 1 model of Inquisition...
There's no qualification for points on your Primary Detachment thankfully. It even states right at the beginning of the 'Including Inquisitors in Your Army' section:

Quote:
When you choose an army, Inquisitors may be taken as a primary detachment or as a
special form of allied detachment known as an Inquisitorial detachment.
Unless there's some Detachment restriction thing going specific to the Tournament this is all perfectly legitimate.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome