Jump Infantry charging into Difficult Terrain? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-22-15, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default Jump Infantry charging into Difficult Terrain?

Do they take the Initiative penalty or not? I was certain they did, but I checked it earlier today and now I'm less confident. If you use your Jump ability in the Assault Phase rather than the movement phase, you explicitly benefit from the 'Skyborne' rule (the rule that allows Jump Infantry to move over terrain and other models). As far as I can tell, if you use your Jump move in the assault phase and charge into difficult terrain, you take Dangerous Terrain if you land in terrain but you otherwise ignore the terrain including the Initiative penalty (as you are not charging through terrain, you are charging over it).

If so, then the obvious result is that Wraithknights don't go down to I1 for going through cover, but I'm sure there are other jump units that benefit from this.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-22-15, 09:28 PM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

Quote:
SKYBORNE
When using its jump pack (whether moving, charging or Falling Back, as we’ll discuss in a moment) a model can move over all other models and all terrain freely. However, if the model begins or ends its move in difficult terrain, it must take a Dangerous Terrain test.

Jump models cannot end their move on top of other models and can only end their move on top of impassable terrain if it is actually possible to place the models on top of it. If they do this, however, they treat the impassable terrain as dangerous terrain.
Where does it say you ignore Initiative penalty?



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-22-15, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

The model doesn't go through the difficult terrain, which is what causes the initiative penalty, because it moves over all terrain freely. It just appears in base to base contact all of a sudden, which is silly when I say it but does make sense from a fluff perspective (yes, yes, rules =/= fluff).

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-22-15, 10:11 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

I see your point @MidnightSun . The rule states that you 'pass freely over all terrain' so long as you're using your Jump Pack and includes charging in the list of things this applies to. I don't think it's right, but maybe @Vaz can explain more as to why if you're freely moving over something negative modifiers still apply?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-22-15, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

If your charging a unit that is in terrain you would end up in the terrain - so negative results of charging into terrain. However it seems that you do not have any negative on the charge modifier.

----

Also charging into terrain, if you lack grenades (I assume that this works the same still) you should still suffer the I penalty, as far as I can tell...

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-22-15, 11:31 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

I think that's sensible, but you don't go through the terrain - you just kinda end up standing on it, much like Jump Infantry in the movement phase.

I didn't know that you took Dangerous Terrain if you used your Jump Packs to charge a unit in whatever area terrain is called now though, that's neat.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-23-15, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Interesting point being made here. Not 100% sure what the rules say so won't do a comment to swimg it either way.
I guess the problem is what type of dangerous terrain it is. To go back to a classic example of what could be dangerous, you could have a long spiked barricade or minefield , but if you had the jump packs just hover over and attack down with needing to land it might have no effect. But if the defending unit was set up in something like a field of longspikes (basically pikes that are buried in the ground with a small amount of room between for defenders but much taller than those hiding in there) then the jump packs would have to actively negotiate there way in to attack, thus losing a bit of time.
mayegelt is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-23-15, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
alt-f4's Flag is: Belgium
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Mons (Belgium)
Posts: 117
Reputation: 1
Default

Maybe I'm wrong, but this is the way I understand the rules :

- We talk here about difficult terrain, not dangerous one (jump infantry may land upon difficult terrain when charging, but takes then a dangerous terrain test that does not change the nature of the terrain : it remains a difficult one).

- Charging through difficult terrain lowers the models to I1 for the fight (except for the models which have grenades). Jumping above it does not.

- If the jumping models land upon difficult terrain, they are affected by it (lowered to I1 for the fight, except for the models which have grenades). Moreover, each model must pass a dangerous terrain test (even if the terrain is just a difficult one).

- "Under cover" is a difficult terrain. So, if the unit charges its target through its cover (or lands upon it), i.e. if the straight line of any model passes through the cover, the whole unit is subject to difficult terrain.

- Charging through dangerous terrain is the same, except that even models which don't jump must pass a dangerous terrain test.
alt-f4 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-23-15, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

I think this seals it. Models charging through terrain fight at I1 despite any modifiers even if the charging unit is not slowed by Difficult Terrain (pg.47 BRB). Despite our Jump troops not being slowed by Terrain they do indeed fight at I1. Still pretty cool if you ask me, though with the re-roll for using your packs in the Assault phase you were probably making it in before ignoring the -2" charge modifier.

EDIT: major con obviously being you can lose models to gain HoW and a better charge range, which can be crappy if your dice are jerks.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP

Last edited by ntaw; 05-23-15 at 12:25 PM.
ntaw is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-23-15, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Thanks for the input Heretics

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome