Flyer Deep Strike as a Skimmer? - Page 5 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 49 (permalink) Old 03-25-15, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by venomlust View Post
Really wish they would release an erratum for this issue
Most issues in the BRB don't need an erratum since they require only a small amount of common sense - Jink doesn't give cover to the whole unit, you can deny Blessings, you can Deep Strike flyers that have that rule in Zooming mode (fuck, I hadn't noticed how retarded a name 'zooming' is for that until just now) etc. etc.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 49 (permalink) Old 03-25-15, 10:53 PM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by venomlust View Post
I definitely see/read what you guys are saying, but it seems so ridiculous to have the combination of rules there if it automatically results in the death of a unit. Really wish they would release an erratum for this issue. Effing FW.
Why does it? I personally can't see why planes can't zoom and deep strike naturally, but GW have decreed it to be so (maybe to prevent a flyer without the correct rules combination coming on, unloading its entire payload of S8 AP2 Armourbane Missiles, and using it's "Only hit on a 6" mode in combination with "oh and a 4+ jink after I've used all my 1 shot ammunition? oh well!" rules.

And FW for the most part in 30K at least, which is where there are a lot more cases of Deep Striking Flyers, they have a specific rule (i.e flyers can Deep Strike in Zoom mode, and if doing so count as having moved the minimum 18". Deep Striking Flyers may not Jink - this last rule being a major spanner in the works of how the Anvilus Pods are pretty terrible now IMHO, as they're actually forced to DS in Hover mode)



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
post #43 of 49 (permalink) Old 03-27-15, 10:33 AM
Warsmith
 
Uveron's Avatar
Uveron's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,190
Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSun View Post
Most issues in the BRB don't need an erratum since they require only a small amount of common sense - Jink doesn't give cover to the whole unit, you can deny Blessings, you can Deep Strike flyers that have that rule in Zooming mode (fuck, I hadn't noticed how retarded a name 'zooming' is for that until just now) etc. etc.

I Noticed that the XIPHON PATTERN INTERCEPTOR Rules (see link) Has rules for 'Flyers and the Deep Strike Special Rule"... I think it solves this debate.

Uveron is offline  
 
post #44 of 49 (permalink) Old 03-27-15, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

Ah, just as i tought!

Flyers and the Deep Strike Special Rule
As well as arriving via the usual Reserves method, some Flyers also have the ability to
deploy via Deep Strike, representing a vertical ‘dive’ onto the battlefield. If the Flyer in
question has the Hover type, the controlling player must declare before the Deep Strike
is attempted whether the Flyer is Zooming or being treated as a Fast Skimmer. If using
Hover mode, the rules for Deep Strike apply as standard. If using a Zooming Deep Strike,
Flyers deploying via Deep Strike count as making a Zoom move and having moved at
Cruising speed (18") on the turn they arrive, but are not moved any further in the turn
in which they are deployed. They cannot evade, go Flat Out, drop bombs or deploy
transported units on the turn in which they arrive. On subsequent turns, the Flyer is free
to operate as normal. This is a risky proposition for an aircraft and a test of a pilot’s skill,
and so the usual rules for Deep Strike mishaps apply even though the Flyer is notionally ata higher altitude than is normally the case.

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #45 of 49 (permalink) Old 03-27-15, 12:26 PM
JUGGERNUT
 
venomlust's Avatar
venomlust's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,558
Reputation: 32
Default

Good stuff! Appears to be just as @Vaz said above, unless I'm missing something. Was it that they applied the 30k rule to 40k?


SUFFER NOT THE PONY TO LIVE.

- - AMATEUR KHORNESTAR: MY BLOG THING - -

Last edited by venomlust; 03-27-15 at 12:31 PM.
venomlust is offline  
post #46 of 49 (permalink) Old 03-27-15, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neferhet View Post
Flyers and the Deep Strike Special Rule
Can I get a source on this?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #47 of 49 (permalink) Old 03-27-15, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Can I get a source on this?
As @Uveron linked before

http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Download...Xiphon_40K.pdf

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #48 of 49 (permalink) Old 03-27-15, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

D'oh, thanks man.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #49 of 49 (permalink) Old 11-13-15, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord Lorne Walkier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 148
Reputation: 1
Default

The Stormraven in the new RG Ravenhawk Assault Group, formation can now deepsrike. It also must begin in hover.
Lord Lorne Walkier is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome