Challenge Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-15, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default Challenge Question

If a loan character assaults a unit and gets put into a challenge, the assaulted models that aren't in the challenge do...nothing? Just form an impromptu underground boxing ring and watch their dude fight the other dude?

I had a chaos lord assault a squad of necrons that had the army's warlord in it. Since the chaos lord has to issue a challenge, i did so, and the other player accepted with his character...then we were confused as to what the rest of the unit did while the two warlords duked it out.
GuiltySparc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-15, 09:13 PM
Warsmith
 
Uveron's Avatar
Uveron's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,190
Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuiltySparc View Post
If a loan character assaults a unit and gets put into a challenge, the assaulted models that aren't in the challenge do...nothing? Just form an impromptu underground boxing ring and watch their dude fight the other dude?

I had a chaos lord assault a squad of necrons that had the army's warlord in it. Since the chaos lord has to issue a challenge, i did so, and the other player accepted with his character...then we were confused as to what the rest of the unit did while the two warlords duked it out.
In 7th Edd if there are none but the Characters in the Challenge then everyone can target the Character.

Uveron is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-15, 10:17 PM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

When a challenge is accepted, the change is that the models involved in the challenge must direct all of their attacks against each other using the WS/T of the opponent rather than majority of the unit as is normally the case, and the models involved also lose Look Out, Sir!

However, Outside Forces (i.e, those not in the challenge) CANNOT direct their attacks against the challenger UNLESS all other enemy models locked in that same combat have been removed as casualties. Excess wounds caused in the challenge carry on

I.e, Sergeant and 9 Space Marines charge 9 Ork Boys and Nob, overwatch has happened, start of fight phase. Space Marines go first, and issues a challenge to the Nob. Nob accepts.

Both Nob and Sergeant have Unwieldy Weapons (Power Fist and Klaw), so Marines go first. Lets say they kill 8. Orks retaliate, killing 2. Nob and Sergeant swing, both surviving each others attacks. Next turn, the Marines pile in. While they cannot directly attack the Nob, with their being only 1 Ork, any wounds left over from the wound pool after the Ork is removed may be allocated to the Nob.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-15, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default

Ok, so the other guys in their unit could have attacked the chaos lord since there were no other dudes in the Lord's unit.
GuiltySparc is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-03-15, 02:38 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

In a 6th edition, they could not attack, and every 5 soldiers standing around doing nothing would grant that side's character a reroll.

This edition, that is no longer the case--basically, yes, they would have attacked rather than standing around

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome