a lot of questions(1 about walkers and rest on assault) basic. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-24-08, 05:30 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default a lot of questions(1 about walkers and rest on assault) basic.

So there are a couple things im still iffy on

1st. With a walker it was 3 amour sides, when you hit it and get past it armor rate like you get 15 and armor is 14 what does a penetrating hit do? Also to destroy a walker do you need to destroy ever side ?

2nd.Say orks with I of 3 come and assault SM with I of 5 do the SM hit first even though they are not the assaulter?

3rd. Say you have 5 orks vs 3 sm in assault can the remaining 2 orks fight 1 person? Or do they have to wait until a SM is open with no enemys?
fool3916 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-24-08, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
onlainari's Avatar
onlainari's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canberra
Posts: 299
Reputation: 1
Default

See page 61 of the rulebook for armor penetration. It says if you get a 5, 6, or more the vehicle is destroyed, which means you don't have to destroy every side.

And yeah, you strike in initiative order even when you charge, unlike fantasy. Also unlike fantasy, you get +1 attack for charging.

I do not understand your third question. Units fight units in assault, it's not a model vs model thing like lord of the rings. All 5 orks attack, but they can't chose which space marine they are attacking. All 3 space marines attack as well.

Jugger
onlainari is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-24-08, 01:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Djinn24's Avatar
Djinn24's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 0
Default

VS walkers you swing vs the front armor, on a pen hit you roll on the chart and apply the result, if you get a destroy (barring structure points), the vehicle is toast.

The second example is head on.

For the third:

Lets say your 5 orks attack 3 SMs. The 3 SMs will attack, roll for wounds and the orks would then make their saves. All of the survivors would then attack the SMs back (going in initiative order). So if all 5 survived then theyw ould all attack, if onoy 3 survived then only those 3 would be able to attack.
Djinn24 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-24-08, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Underground Heretic's Avatar
Underground Heretic's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 1,267
Reputation: 1
Default

The exception to three is when fighting an independent character attached to a unit. The independent character attacks and is attacked by as if a separate unit.

That which doesn't kill me has made a tactical mistake.

Rites of Battle Your source for 40k opinions, news, and hobby updates.
Underground Heretic is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome