End of assault question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default End of assault question

If a unit completely destroys another unit in assault and are now very close to another unit, in this case they were about 1" apart. The player controlling the losing side had put two units very close together by happenstance. When the one that was charged was killed, the remaining chargers were about an inch away from the other unit.

My question is, does anything happen with the 2nd unit that wasn't involved in the combat (like they can drawn into combat or something) or is that the end of it?

Thanks!
GuiltySparc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:12 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Assault just ends, when your winning unit consolidates you need to make sure none of the models are closer than a inch from other enemy units.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

+1 to the above. in no way you can "drag" units in melee... (unless special rules that clearly states this)

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default

ah ok, thanks. Thats the way we resolved it but when i was thinking about it i thought i had recalled something about units within 2" being counted as being in combat...no idea where i pulled that out of, lol. Thanks for the clarification. I think we didnt consolidate them such that they were > 1" away leading me to this line of thought.
GuiltySparc is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:24 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

While in assault, models of units within 2" of base to base assault models can attack.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

It would be pretty nuts if we could Consolidate into a new combat, but alas. Scscofield has it right.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
While in assault, models of units within 2" of base to base assault models can attack.
do they have to attack or could they chose not to? I was charging tau units (pathfinders with a squad of firewarriors + ethereal 1" behind them) so if tau had the choice they would chose not too.

What ended up happening is that my raptors slaughtered the pathfinders then got shot up in the next turn by the firewarriors at point blank range, lol. One of the raptors survived the gunning and passed the break check, then i flew him away to safety on my turn.

Last edited by GuiltySparc; 01-29-15 at 07:37 PM.
GuiltySparc is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:34 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Pretty sure any model that is able to attack, must attack. What you just described is the risk of super killy CC units hitting soft targets.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
GuiltySparc's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 166
Reputation: 7
Default

ah ok, that makes sense. So the mistake we made was that the firewarriors that were 1" behind the pathfinders were not brought into the combat after the pathfinders were charged initially?.
GuiltySparc is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-15, 07:42 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

No, they only would have been in combat if you had done a disorganized charge. To do that you would have needed at least one model in your raptors with a straight line unobsrtucted path to the fire warriors unit.

When you charged the pathfindrrs, you would also have had to assualted the fire warriors. That is the only way they would have gotten into that assault.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome