KFF on Trukks - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-23-08, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
N0rdicNinja's Avatar
N0rdicNinja's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 204
Reputation: 1
Default KFF on Trukks

If I take a Big Mek and slap a KFF on him does he still affect other units and vehicles if I have him in a Trukk? Originally I thought yes, and I was going to use it almost as a basis for my Speed Freaks army, but after talking to one of my friends and glancing at the Ork Codex again I realized they technically don't specify whether he can or not... So does the KFF still have a 6" range while he's in a Trukk? Or does he only affect the Trukk he is riding in? Or is it a useless piece of Wargear if he's thrown in a Trukk? o.O; Help would be greatly appreciated. ^_^b
N0rdicNinja is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-23-08, 03:43 PM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

p66 under 'Embarking' in the 40k main book says that anything (besides shooting) that requires you to measure from the model you instead measure from the hull...in other words, your powers still work in transport.

The trukk is obviously within 6" of its own hull, so it's covered by the KFF.

I;d slap it in a battlewagon though

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-23-08, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
N0rdicNinja's Avatar
N0rdicNinja's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 204
Reputation: 1
Default

Sweet, I thought so! It didn't make any sense to me that you wouldn't be able to use it, but I just wanted to make sure. Thanks for the clarification. =)
N0rdicNinja is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-24-08, 12:35 AM
Senior Member
 
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,976
Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad View Post
p66 under 'Embarking' in the 40k main book says that anything (besides shooting) that requires you to measure from the model you instead measure from the hull...in other words, your powers still work in transport.

The trukk is obviously within 6" of its own hull, so it's covered by the KFF.

I;d slap it in a battlewagon though
really? so what about Gift of chaos then, does this mean you can cast it from inside a transport, as its not a shooting power?

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!
maddermax is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-24-08, 01:13 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

The wording on this rule is just about things that measure range from the embarked unit. Shooting attacks go from fire points. For powers like GoC that don;t need range or LOS, it;s a tough call, but I would be tempted to say it can be used normally from within a transport.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome