Stormshard mortars on the wyvern - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-07-14, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Iraqiel's Avatar
Iraqiel's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Top End
Posts: 2,422
Reputation: 68
Default Stormshard mortars on the wyvern

Good day to thee, team heresy.

Playing Orks today the question was asked whether wyverns fire their mortars as two separate barrage weapons - which is to say, one would roll 2D6 to scatter twice in a round of shooting, and barrage scatter twice also.

We decided on a dice roll to play it this way, but the fact that vehicle squadrons firing barrage weapons combine their fires - to mean that 2D6 scatter is rolled only once regardless of the number of weapons firing - indicates to me that it may be instead that one 2D6 and three barrage scatters are rolled. What are your thoughts?

Iraqiel

Check out my Imperial Guard Battle-Group-in-the-making as it slowly takes form! Located just here:
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...my&army_id=705

And my collection of all things - particularly Grey Knights; Guard and Adeptus Mechanicus: https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=129966
Iraqiel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-07-14, 04:08 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

I think the Wyvern fires as one multiple barrage - so yes, roll for scatter on the first shot and then roll scatter dice for each shot after that. I don't have my rulebook on me to check, but I remember that's how it was done with the old Artillery Squadrons for Guard - adding in a Griffon meant you could use it's Accurate Barrage to make a pair of Colossuses more accurate or whatever.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-07-14, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

unless something in 7th then it should be as MidnightSun mentioned; shoot once with 2d6 scatter and then roll the scatter die for all additional shots.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-08-14, 09:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Iraqiel's Avatar
Iraqiel's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Top End
Posts: 2,422
Reputation: 68
Default

So i take it the rule I should be referencing for this is 'multiple barrages'?

Iraqiel

Check out my Imperial Guard Battle-Group-in-the-making as it slowly takes form! Located just here:
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...my&army_id=705

And my collection of all things - particularly Grey Knights; Guard and Adeptus Mechanicus: https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=129966
Iraqiel is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-08-14, 01:22 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Yes, I believe so.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-08-14, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Yes, it is a multiple barrage. Each (undamaged) vehicle fires four small blasts, if in a squadron you could have up to 12 blasts. First is the only one that scatters 2d6 (possibly -BS depending on range and LOS). Bear in mind that it is twin-linked, so this can be re-rolled. After that, each additional marker just gets a scatter die (which can also be re-rolled, per the WD article on the Wyvern) to determine it's placement.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome