Multiple detachments - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-14, 06:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
The Sturk's Avatar
The Sturk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Reputation: 9
Default Multiple detachments

Is it possible to take multiple detachments from the same army?

For example. I played a game recently where my opponent took two detachments of Assassins in order to have two Vindicares, (his primary force was Inquisition). So was he limited to only one assassin detachment or is it valid?
The Sturk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-14, 06:41 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Yes, so long as you bring the minimum HQ and 2 Troops per standard detachment (in a normal army) you can field as many detachments as you want in the allotted points. You don't need, say, 2k points before you bring a second normal detachment.

Every Formation also counts as a detachment, fwiw. You're just plain allowed to bring as many detachments as you like--detachments are the new "structure" around which you build your army, the FOC chart being just one of many options in that regard.

Many tournaments are banning multiple primary detachments--for example, Codex: Knights only allows 1-3 Knights per detachment, so that keeps people from spamming only Knights in a tournament. Also keeps 6 HS or FA lists from being fielded (though often Formations and Allies still allow lopsided, min-maxed lists... which I daresay isn't necessarily a bad thing, if most or all armies have access to similar levels of cheese. ...which they aren't)

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-14, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

As mossy says. It is like the old "double FoC" after 2000 pts but now You can just take as many multiples of the Primary detachment as you like

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-14, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

I don't see where a knight detachment is a Primary detachment. I think you could put in Militarum Tempestus as your primary, and two three knight detachments as secondary, and game the "knight spam" that way.
Creon is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-14, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

nope. knights can be primary detachment. in their codex you find the small rule to use only knights...

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-14, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

Changed via faq.
Creon is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-26-14, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

oh crap i missed that bit.

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-27-14, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Knights can still be your Primary Detachment (per the FAQ), but you need to take three of them to do so. Or if taking only one, it can be your Warlord (and hence your Primary Detachment) only if you have no characters in the army. So no ICs, no sgts, no characters at all.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-04-14, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by don_mondo View Post
Knights can still be your Primary Detachment (per the FAQ), but you need to take three of them to do so. Or if taking only one, it can be your Warlord (and hence your Primary Detachment) only if you have no characters in the army. So no ICs, no sgts, no characters at all.
I agree. It specifically says if you have Knights as your primary detachment that you can take 3-6 of them in that detachment. The FAQ does not correct that part to be any different.

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-12-14, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
tirnaog's Avatar
tirnaog's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 115
Reputation: 1
Default

Let me see if I have this straight;
I can have any number of detachments.
Each has to have 1-2 HQs and 2 Troops.
Is there a difference between Combined armed and Primary, other then primary has the warlord in it?

Example:
1st detachment: 1 HQ farseer, 2 Troops Avenger units
2nd detachment: 1 HQ farseer, 2 Troops Avenger units
3rd detachment: 2 HQ SightSeers, 2 Troops WraithGuard units
Would that be valid?
tirnaog is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome