Stormravens shooting - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-14, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default Stormravens shooting

I re-read the rulebook today and I have been playing Stormravens and other flyers wrong. Just to see if it is just me who is crazy, I have a question for you. How many weapons can a Stormraven fire at full BS in a turn they did not Jink?
psactionman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-14, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

4 if they moving combat or cruising while zooming.
2 if hovering and cruising speed.
All if hovering but also moving combat speed or stationary.
mayegelt is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-31-14, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Gret79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,629
Reputation: 14
Default

Does power of the machine spirit not mean 5 guns?
4 and 1 extra due to potms.
I'd love to be wrong though - I hate the damn things

Quote:
Originally Posted by neferhet View Post
Fur is for the weak!
Gret79 is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-14, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Yes if the vehicle has PotMS will give it an extra attack.
Remember the Chaos Version of a Stormraven doesn't get PotMS. As I wasn't sure if you were talking about SM, CSM or GK so didn't include the extra PotMS attack.
mayegelt is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-14, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Deus Mortis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In a cell for revealing sensitive information regarding the Inquisition
Posts: 2,071
Reputation: 37
Default

Well, PotMS only gives it another weapon to fire if it HAS another weapon it could fire.

For example, my Grey Knight Storm Raven has a twin-linked Multi-Melta, a twin-linked Plasma Cannon, 2 Hurricane Bolters (1 on each side) and 4 Mindstrike missiles (of which it can only fire 2 in a turn). That means it has a total of 6 weapons it COULD fire. So if it it is Zooming, with PotMS, it can fire any 5 of those 6 weapons and one can be at a different target to the rest.

Now, let's say that the Storm Raven only has a twin-linked Multi-Melta, a twin-linked Plasma Cannon, and 4 Mindstrike missiles (of which it can only fire 2 in a turn). That means that it has a total of 4 weapons it can fire on any given turn. Now, you can use PotMS to allow one of those weapons to fire at a different target, but you can still only fire 4 weapons, because the Storm Raven only has 4 weapons it CAN fire. PotMS doesn't let you fire one of those weapons twice.

My contribution to the Renegades saga. Check it out

My growing IIIrd legion stuff:

17th Millenial (Homebrew Fluff) - "Children of the Emperor, death to his foes!" (Project Log)

Also my 30k tacticas, for those of you interested:

Crusade Army List tactica - Individual Legion tactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel of Blood View Post
And for two fucking grand, I could buy enough rum and hookers to 'artistically' recreate the better part of Pirates of the Caribbean.
Deus Mortis is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-14, 03:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

Well, my gaming group and I have been operating under the impression it was 4 weapons period, even if they had other weapons to fire. Apparently it was just us...now I feel quite the dumb.
psactionman is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-14, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Yeah PotMS gives you an additional one, regardless of what vehicle.
mayegelt is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-01-14, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayegelt View Post
Remember the Chaos Version of a Stormraven doesn't get PotMS.
Whoa, did I miss something? When did Chaos get the Stormraven?!

...or do you think you're talking about Land Raiders?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-02-14, 04:02 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Whoa, did I miss something? When did Chaos get the Stormraven?!

...or do you think you're talking about Land Raiders?
I assume Forge World; mayegelt tends to rhapsodize about Zhufor and Storm Eagles, etc.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-02-14, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

As Mossy said, its one of the impy armour books as far as I remember. I know Imp Armour Apoc 2013 has Storm Eagle, I think Storm Raven is in a separate one, might be mistaken.
mayegelt is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome