Can Daemons charge after being Summoned? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-14, 06:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Words_of_Truth's Avatar
Words_of_Truth's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Birmingham, England
Posts: 7,003
Reputation: 30
Default Can Daemons charge after being Summoned?

Say I summoned a pack of Seekers of Slaanesh 12" in front of me, after moving 6" on from my 12" deployment, could that unit then charge, if I went second?
Words_of_Truth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-14, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Nope, sorry. They cannot assault on the turn they are summoned.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-14, 07:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Words_of_Truth's Avatar
Words_of_Truth's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Birmingham, England
Posts: 7,003
Reputation: 30
Default

Where does it say that?
Words_of_Truth is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-14, 07:22 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

They come in as if from Deep Strke Reserve, and units coming in from Deep Strike cannot assault the turn they arrive.

As another side note: Flying Monstrous Creatures must come in from reserve Swooping, so if you summon a Bloodthirster or Lord of Change, it can't assault the turn it comes in or your turn after it comes in, as it has to change flight modes that next turn so still can't assault.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-14, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Words_of_Truth's Avatar
Words_of_Truth's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Birmingham, England
Posts: 7,003
Reputation: 30
Default

Ok found the rule it's under Conjuration, thanks.
Words_of_Truth is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-14, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
As another side note: Flying Monstrous Creatures must come in from reserve Swooping, so if you summon a Bloodthirster or Lord of Change, it can't assault the turn it comes in or your turn after it comes in, as it has to change flight modes that next turn so still can't assault.
I would say when you summon it that as it is bursts out and possesses the flesh of the chosen victim that is isn't flying.
Equally that is where the throat punching rule comes in with the mighty words of "Stop being stupid".
mayegelt is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-14, 08:56 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayegelt View Post
Equally that is where the throat punching rule comes in with the mighty words of "Stop being stupid".
Oh how I wish. The rulebook is pretty ironclad about DSing FMCs, though. So, RAW...

*shrugs helplessly*

I'd be fine playing casually and letting it not have to Swoop, but I'd have to agree with the player beforehand that it's a house rule. And... I'd likely only be bringing it up because I'm running a list with Malefic, so if they insist on being stupid, I'm not going to push them for sticking to RAW.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-16-14, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
brianlynchmob's Avatar
brianlynchmob's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 192
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Words_of_Truth View Post
Say I summoned a pack of Seekers of Slaanesh 12" in front of me, after moving 6" on from my 12" deployment, could that unit then charge, if I went second?
No, summoned units arrive via deep strike rules which prohibits assaulting afterwards.
brianlynchmob is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome