Barrage weapons and trenches - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-01-14, 06:50 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dragonkingofthestars's Avatar
dragonkingofthestars's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bandon Oregon
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 7
Default Barrage weapons and trenches

had a game just now and a few 'funny' things happened.

so I don't end up spaming the forum i'll parse them out.

First one: I had a unit of scouts in a trench with stealth, a failed pinning test making them go to ground for a 2+.

A barrage unit (biovore for the record) fired and landed all three templates right on my model all direct hits. now, my opponent (who had a7th edition rule book and I did not) said that since the barrage weapon had hit in the middle of the trench, so that there was no direct obstruction (say a wall) between the center of the template and any of my models, the trenches 4+ cover was negated since, as mentioned there was nothing between my scouts and the center of the blast, so I had only a 5+ cover (go to ground + stealth) save, needless to say I lost a lot of scouts.

my obvious question is, is that correct? did the barrage by virtue of not getting a wall between its center and my models, strip the cover away?

I think we were counting it as ruins and it was a GW trench with a bottom , so not just two walls with some guys in the middle (question still stands for that case I feel)

note: if you see me giving tactical advice: just assume i have a internet tab open to 1d4 chan and I'm summarizing off of that.

Avatar done by Bulhakov
dragonkingofthestars is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-01-14, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonkingofthestars View Post
my obvious question is, is that correct? did the barrage by virtue of not getting a wall between its center and my models, strip the cover away?
the barrage weapon counts cover from the center of the blast. if the trench does not give an hinernt cover just for being inside, then yes, it strip any cover. if however, the trench is treated like a ruin (where you get cover just for being inside), then you should be safe

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-01-14, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default

ill need to double check this..but didnt they remove the area terrain rule in 7th..you need to be behind cover or not..there some exceptions to that i know
fatmantis is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-01-14, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

exceptions are ruins and moonscape / dead wood terrain
Also, i've checked: wall of martyrs are "Battlefield debris (defence lines)" so you do need to be actually covered to have cover saves. being inside has relevance to get the walls of martyrs special rules.

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-18-14, 12:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neferhet View Post
exceptions are ruins and moonscape / dead wood terrain
Also, i've checked: wall of martyrs are "Battlefield debris (defence lines)" so you do need to be actually covered to have cover saves. being inside has relevance to get the walls of martyrs special rules.
and craters and rubble.

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome