Can a doom scythe shoot at invisibile units - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-27-14, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dragonkingofthestars's Avatar
dragonkingofthestars's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bandon Oregon
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 7
Default Can a doom scythe shoot at invisibile units

I have a sinking feeling I know the answer to this one, but can a Doom Scythes shoot it's death ray at a unit under the Invisibility blessing?

note: if you see me giving tactical advice: just assume i have a internet tab open to 1d4 chan and I'm summarizing off of that.

Avatar done by Bulhakov
dragonkingofthestars is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-27-14, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

the answer is simple: can that particular doomshit weapon shoot Snapshots?
If yes, then you can.
If no, then you cannot.

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-27-14, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Ravner298's Avatar
Ravner298's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,087
Reputation: 1
Default

It doesn't target anything. It draws a line between two points hitting everything under the line. I don't see a reason it couldn't hit invisible units, no hit rolls are required.
Ravner298 is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-27-14, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Moriouce's Avatar
Moriouce's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Borås
Posts: 2,195
Reputation: 63
Default

What does the BRB or FaQs say about snapfire with weapons that autohit? Should say something.

Good to be green

Barks Dakka Ladz: W3-D2-L3
Altansar Eldar: W3-D0-L2

Moriouce is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-27-14, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
The Sturk's Avatar
The Sturk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Reputation: 9
Default

I would say that you can't initially target the invisible unit.

That doesn't stop you from having them be a secondary target.
The Sturk is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-28-14, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravner298 View Post
It doesn't target anything. It draws a line between two points hitting everything under the line. I don't see a reason it couldn't hit invisible units, no hit rolls are required.
^This^

You target a point on the board, not a unit.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-28-14, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Ravner298's Avatar
Ravner298's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,087
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moriouce View Post
What does the BRB or FaQs say about snapfire with weapons that autohit? Should say something.

Haven't heard anything. Stomp is another auto hit ability that counters invisibility well.
Ravner298 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-28-14, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Moriouce's Avatar
Moriouce's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Borås
Posts: 2,195
Reputation: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravner298 View Post
Haven't heard anything. Stomp is another auto hit ability that counters invisibility well.

If stomp counters invisibility the I would say deathray does aswell.

Good to be green

Barks Dakka Ladz: W3-D2-L3
Altansar Eldar: W3-D0-L2

Moriouce is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-28-14, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Sethis's Avatar
Sethis's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alston, Cumbria
Posts: 4,190
Reputation: 58
Default

However the Death Ray specifically cannot fire Snap Shots. Just worth bearing in mind.

90% of people think they are above average.

Statistically Improbable. Psychologically Inevitable.
Sethis is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-28-14, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
The_Werewolf_Arngeirr's Avatar
The_Werewolf_Arngeirr's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 602
Reputation: 5
Default

I believe the BRB covers weapons like this as their "target" is the first unit the weapon would touch (its similar to JotwW from the SW dex, which requires LoS to the first unit touched by it) would it not? I dont have a direct reference number to that currently, but i will pull my RB out soon to check.
The_Werewolf_Arngeirr is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome