Other Chapters restrictions to SM units? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-09-14, 10:37 AM Thread Starter
Embrace the Insanity
Insanity's Avatar
Insanity's Flag is: Australia
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,159
Reputation: 12
Default Other Chapters restrictions to SM units?

So i'm looking into expanding my Dark Angels army (Got the Dark Vengeance ones and other bits and pieces), but I was wondering if the other chapters such as Dark Angels, Blood Angels, Black Templar etc. have any restrictions to using standard SM units. I haven't read through any other chapters Codex so i'm sorry if it's described in them already.

Things like Centurions, Thunderfire Cannons, StormTalons, Assault Marines, Scouts, Tech Marines, Drop Pods etc.

While i'm asking questions, will I be able to field DA with just the DA codex? or will I need the standard SM codex as well?
Insanity is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-09-14, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79

Nope, each Dex is self contained. This conversely means that without using Allies, you're SoL with regards to using Thunderfires etc.

You only get the options presented within the books.

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-09-14, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
mayegelt's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13

As said above the DA codex is self contained. The Space Marine one contains stuff for multiple chapters, though doesn't include Blood Angels and Space Wolves.
Because DA came out before SM as well it also had the annoying thing of meaning that DA don't have Grav weapons or Centurions. I was hoping they would FAQ them in as an option, but no... however we do seem to get more plasmas.
mayegelt is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome