Infiltrating an IC - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-04-14, 01:54 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Reputation: 1
Default Infiltrating an IC

Ok, so with 7th ed new options have opened. Basically, if I have an IC with infiltrate. Can I attach him and a IC without infiltrate to a unit and infiltrate them all. The rules state a unit cannot confer infiltrate to an IC but and IC can confer infiltrate to a unit. Since this happens at deployment there is no order to go by.
Darkcity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-04-14, 02:42 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Independent Characters and Infiltrate
An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment.






This rule disagrees with you.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-04-14, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
NathanJD's Avatar
NathanJD's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 268
Reputation: 6
Default

First, there are only 2 ways to join an IC to a unit before the start of the first turn. Either by deploying the IC within 2" of a unit, or by declaring that they are joined after they have both been placed into reserves.

Now that that's established, the order is very important:
1a) your deployment
1b) opponent's deployment
2a) one player deploys infiltrators
2b) other player deploys infiltrators

During step 1, all units and ICs must be placed on the table or into reserves. Then, in step 2 you make the same choice for infiltrators. Given this, all ICs and units without infiltrate will already be on the board or in reserves by your deploy infiltrators step. So, being deployed as an infiltrator can never be conferred either way.

If the IC and unit are joined in reserve, they may benefit from outflank as conferred by infiltrate.

The rule that @scscofield mentioned is a very odd addition. When placing models, it translates to, "Infiltrators may never deploy within 2 inches of an IC without infiltrate." This prevents farseer/rangers and ethereal/kroot even fully within your deployment zone.

The part I am unsure about is whether or not this rule prevents an IC without infiltrate from joining a unit with infiltrate in reserves as this is technically during deployment. I'm inclined to say this is true. So, the only thing you can do is use an IC with infiltrate to outflank a unit without.
NathanJD is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome