Blessing of the Blood God in 7th - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-02-14, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dawnstar's Avatar
Dawnstar's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Somewhere between the Warp and a Craftworld
Posts: 2,063
Reputation: 1
Default Blessing of the Blood God in 7th

While putting together a new Chaos Marine list to try out, I came across old Kharn's Blessing of the Blood God rule again.

Quote:
Kharn and his unit always pass their Deny the Witch rolls on a 2+
Since in the 7th Edition any psychic power that is cast can attempt to be denied, does this mean that Kharn can cancel every psychic power my opponent attempts to cast on a 2+?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpion5 View Post
Mate, bacon can do anything.
Dawnstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-02-14, 01:03 PM
Herald of The Warp
 
Nordicus's Avatar
Nordicus's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 2,752
Reputation: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawnstar View Post
Since in the 7th Edition any psychic power that is cast can attempt to be denied, does this mean that Kharn can cancel every psychic power my opponent attempts to cast on a 2+?
The way I interpret it, it applies as such:

- On offensive spells (witchfires, malediction, etc.) that target him and his unit, he denies on a 2+. That means he still needs to roll the same amount of 2's as the warpcharge cost of the spell used against him. (Example; I cast a Warpcharge 3 spell against him and succeed. He then needs to roll 3 2's to deny it)

- On blessings, it is stated in the rules (not at home at the moment, so can't give a direct page-number unfortunately) that any bonuses are non-applicable. So he only denies those on a 6+.

I might be wrong though - But any passive bonuses to Deny the Witch is interpreted thus in my game group at least.
Nordicus is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-02-14, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

As above said. Only if the power is targeting that person or unit will he get the 2+s

Unlike units with adamantine will.
Though the one you need to look at is in the daemon codex
Collar of Khorne : A unit containing 1 of more models with the Collar of Khorne has a +2 to all bonus to all Deny the Witch rolls. So as long as you have Khorne Dogs you are Denying on 4+ all the time

Try to combine a Adamantine Will with Khorne Dogs and it would make life fun.
mayegelt is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-02-14, 01:32 PM
Herald of The Warp
 
Nordicus's Avatar
Nordicus's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 2,752
Reputation: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayegelt View Post
Unlike units with adamantine will.
Though the one you need to look at is in the daemon codex
Collar of Khorne : A unit containing 1 of more models with the Collar of Khorne has a +2 to all bonus to all Deny the Witch rolls. So as long as you have Khorne Dogs you are Denying on 4+ all the time

Try to combine a Adamantine Will with Khorne Dogs and it would make life fun.
Doesn't it specifically state in the "Deny the Witch" section that modifiers such as Adamantine Will, Psyker levels and other bonus does never apply to blessings?
Nordicus is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-02-14, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
The Irish Commissar's Avatar
The Irish Commissar's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Meath, Ireland
Posts: 716
Reputation: 7
Default

Blessing and the like can't be changed at all. So it stays at a 6+. But on maledictions and witch fires they can be reduced from a 6+ so a 5+ and so on. So Kharns would be a 2+ against maledictions and witchfires.

6th Edition. 7th Edition

Eldar. Eldar
W14-D1-L4. W2-D0-L0

Imperial guard
W3-D2-L1

Space marine's
W0-D0-L0
The Irish Commissar is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-02-14, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
mayegelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13
Default

As nordicus said and something I had forgot, you can only use the bonuses on spells cast against your units.
And if none of your units were the target of the enemy’s psychic power but apply no modifiers to your dice rolls. I guess it doesn't care about that collar then... shame you just turned a win I had the other day in to a void game by pointing that one out
Though I guess it doesn't mention the collar as one of the bonuses it mentioned so it might still work... Khorne does like to eat any spells that are near him So maybe not...
mayegelt is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome