Shadow In the Warp - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-29-14, 11:51 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Archon Grimherald's Avatar
Archon Grimherald's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 159
Reputation: 2
Default Shadow In the Warp

So me and a friend are wondering, what the hell is the use for the nids Shadow in the Warp? the new faq says nil about it, the new rulebook, from what hes told me as fedex has sent mine through my town twice to other places to have it sent back to me, doesnt cover shadow. So whats it do now?
Archon Grimherald is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-30-14, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
SoL Berzerker's Avatar
SoL Berzerker's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 409
Reputation: 1
Default

Fantastic question. My friend and I have compromised by saying that any psyker within 12" of a Tyranid with Shadow in the Warp only has access to half of the warp charge points that are in the pool, rounding up if there is an odd number of points.

So just for example, if there are 9 warp charge points in the pool, then enemy psykers within 12" of a Hive Tyrant (or any other Tyranid with Shadow in the Warp) will only have access to 5 of them.

Obviously, this is an agreement that I share with a friend, how this will go over with a random player I have no idea, but honestly I think it is a perfectly acceptable replacement.
SoL Berzerker is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-30-14, 12:55 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Archon Grimherald's Avatar
Archon Grimherald's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 159
Reputation: 2
Default

the rule we agreed on is any psyker in 12" of one of the nids with it does not get to add their mastery lvl to the number of points generated, as they are too focused on ignoring the hive mind or struggling with the voices from the hive mind
Archon Grimherald is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-30-14, 01:17 AM
Senior Member
 
dragonkingofthestars's Avatar
dragonkingofthestars's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bandon Oregon
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 7
Default

I would think the shadow does just what it says. This time though the nerf is not from harder casting, but in more frequent perils.

note: if you see me giving tactical advice: just assume i have a internet tab open to 1d4 chan and I'm summarizing off of that.

Avatar done by Bulhakov
dragonkingofthestars is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-30-14, 01:55 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Archon Grimherald's Avatar
Archon Grimherald's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texarkana
Posts: 159
Reputation: 2
Default

i didnt think perils was a leadership test anymore, i thought you only got perils from rolling doubles?
Archon Grimherald is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-30-14, 03:40 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Some of the results on the Perils chart are lessened if you pass a Ld test.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-30-14, 04:48 AM
Senior Member
 
iamtheeviltwin's Avatar
iamtheeviltwin's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Beyond the Pale
Posts: 992
Reputation: 32
Default

Not to mention lowering the Leadership of the model affects all Ld tests (pinning, rallying, panic, etc).

Servants of the Laughing God (Harlequin Themed Eldar Army)
First Eastern Mirage Corps (C:SM)
I am the Evil Project Log (All my work since restarting the hobby)
The Crusade of Morr (WFB Empire Battle Reports)
Dem Bones (Dice Rolling Program)
iamtheeviltwin is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-30-14, 12:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Ravner298's Avatar
Ravner298's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,087
Reputation: 1
Default

It makes perils a lot scarier. Which by my experience with the new perils system, happens quite often. The suggested house rules above severely hamper the tyranid opponents psychers. Which is the desired effect, I suppose.
Ravner298 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome