7E, Stormwing and transports - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-24-14, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default 7E, Stormwing and transports

So I don't have 7E yet, but I've been reading bits and pieces....

GK are now Battle Brothers with all Forces of the Imperium.

Battle Brothers are able to utilize transports from other forces.

The Stormwing Formation says that you can not use the 'raven as a transport unless it's a model from the corresponding army, which is C:SM.

So... the Stormwing is a C:SM transport, the GKs are battle brothers with C:SM....


Can GKs use a Stormraven from the Stormwing Formation? I realize I wouldn't get Psyammo, but I WOULD now have Stormtalons for anti-air....

In a similar vein, could Dark Angels now run the 'raven as a transport, and have Stormtalons instead of lackluster Dark Talons?

Xabre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-24-14, 10:02 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

I can find nothing in the rulebook saying that you can't embark on a transport in a Formation as long as it's Battle Brother status.

So go right on ahead

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-24-14, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

The only thing I can see that would counter act it (playing devils advocate against myself) is the wording in the Formation itself that says you can only take transports from this codex. would it trump the BRB?

Otherwise, this may have just breathed some new life into my Dark Angels idea, since now I can drop a squad of Knights... even though they can already Deep Strike.

Xabre is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-26-14, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

Dropping a squad of knights that can immediately charge is living the dream.
psactionman is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-26-14, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Well then....I wonder, think would anyone give me flak about having a Stormwing formation that was Imperial Fist Stormtalons and a Blood Angel Stormraven?

'Cuz this all sounds like fun.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-27-14, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

As long as they are not DT then that should be fine.

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-27-14, 10:07 AM
The Tinkerer
 
Wookiepelt's Avatar
Wookiepelt's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tree House 526, Kashyyyk
Posts: 832
Reputation: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
The only thing I can see that would counter act it (playing devils advocate against myself) is the wording in the Formation itself that says you can only take transports from this codex. would it trump the BRB?

Otherwise, this may have just breathed some new life into my Dark Angels idea, since now I can drop a squad of Knights... even though they can already Deep Strike.
It does... Exact wording for the "Independent Formation" rule states:
Quote:
The Adeptus Astartes Storm Wing Formation does not benefit from the Chapter Tactics special rule, but units from Codex: Space Marines that are included in the same army can begin the game embarked on the Stormraven Gunship, and can embark on it during the game.
So unless the Battle Brothers are also from Codex: Space Marines, they cannot utilise the Stormraven Gunship as a transport.

Don't leave us engineers with too much free time on our hands...
we WILL tinker around and build something!!!


Wookie's Wolfies - A Space Wolves Project Log
Wookiepelt is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-27-14, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

@ntaw : see Wookie's quote. The vehicles don't have tactics, and must come from C:SM. No bloodstrike missiles, it's not a BA vehicle.

But the quote still leaves the same question. Only C:SM can start in it, but now ALL forces of the Imperium are Battle Brothers.... so can all of them start in an 'unmarked' formation 'raven?

Xabre is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-27-14, 10:46 AM
The Tinkerer
 
Wookiepelt's Avatar
Wookiepelt's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tree House 526, Kashyyyk
Posts: 832
Reputation: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
@ntaw : see Wookie's quote. The vehicles don't have tactics, and must come from C:SM. No bloodstrike missiles, it's not a BA vehicle.

But the quote still leaves the same question. Only C:SM can start in it, but now ALL forces of the Imperium are Battle Brothers.... so can all of them start in an 'unmarked' formation 'raven?
Wasn't there a rule somewhere in the old 6th Ed. BRB about the fact that even Battle Brothers cannot embark on vehicles from other armies? Does that still exist in the latest 6.5/7.0 Ed. BRB?

Don't leave us engineers with too much free time on our hands...
we WILL tinker around and build something!!!


Wookie's Wolfies - A Space Wolves Project Log
Wookiepelt is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-27-14, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

7e let's Battle Brothers share vehicles. That's what really started this.

Xabre is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome