Take Aim order - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Keen4e's Flag is: Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 227
Reputation: 7
Default Take Aim order

Even though it's most likely what I think it is, I'd really like to hear your opinion on that rule.

In the codex it is claimed, that if the order Take Aim succeeds all units have precision shot rule. What I am not 100% sure of is: whether this means that on 6 to hit, you allocate the wound to whomever you want or whether it means that you can do the allocation as you want. The reason I ask is, that when you read the rule for the sniper rifle or for the characters that any 6 to hit results in a precision shot and since the order already gives that rule... it sounds a bit confusing to me.

I know this is nitpicking and I know most likely you need the 6 on hit to allocate to whomever you want, but since the rule has such a big consequences, I wanted to be sure.

The Emperor protects.

Last edited by Keen4e; 04-29-14 at 06:48 PM.
Keen4e is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-30-14, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Dakingofchaos's Avatar
Dakingofchaos's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Coventry
Posts: 802
Reputation: 6
Default

The precision shot special rule means that any roll of a 6 to hit can be allocated to whoever you want, so the guardsmen still need to hit on a 6 to choose their target.

'If you fail to prepare then you'd better prepare to fail'
Dakingofchaos is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-30-14, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

^ bang on. Specifically, pg. 63 BRB (though in this case we are talking about a unit and not a lone Character):

Quote:
If any of your character's shots roll 6 To Hit, these are Precision Shots. Wounds from Precision Shots are allocated against a model (or models) of your choice in the target unit

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-30-14, 03:47 PM
So be it.
 
JAMOB's Avatar
JAMOB's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,900
Reputation: 15
Default

I think that RAI is clearly as stated above, but RAW it seems to be that every shot is allocated to whomever the player wants. Why? Because in NTAW's quotation it says that on a roll of 6, the characters shots are precision shots and can therefore be allocated wherever. The take aim command, however, gives those precision shots to all the guardsmen. It's all a bit confusing and I would play it as they suggested, as the RAW are kinda stupid.

Quote:
If you go down to the woods today, be wary
JAMOB is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-30-14, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Keen4e's Flag is: Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 227
Reputation: 7
Default

Yeah I agree, but it really needs a FAQ.

The Emperor protects.
Keen4e is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-30-14, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

In what way is it confusing. Take Aim=Gives precision shot to all shots coming from guard platoon. It doesn't make them effect as precision shots, it gives the rule Precision Shot to the guard platoon. Therefore, any roll of a 6 from fire rolled by that squad is allocated by the firing player, not the defending player.
Creon is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-30-14, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Keen4e's Flag is: Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 227
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creon View Post
In what way is it confusing. Take Aim=Gives precision shot to all shots coming from guard platoon. It doesn't make them effect as precision shots, it gives the rule Precision Shot to the guard platoon. Therefore, any roll of a 6 from fire rolled by that squad is allocated by the firing player, not the defending player.
The confusion comes from the fact that there are supposedly two things: precision shot as a rule stating that characters and snipers have the precision shot as a result of throwing a 6 when aiming and the precision shot as a rule for wound allocation. Those two are different things yet have the same name hence the confusion.
I agree that when referencing to "precision shot rule", they reference most likely the first one, but there still remains this ambiguity I'd like to be precised in a FAQ.

The Emperor protects.
Keen4e is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-30-14, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

May 24th you'll probably see a USR that describes Precision Shot, so it will probably be all good then
Creon is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-01-14, 01:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

It's still clear on pg 63, MRB 6.0 where there's a "Precision Shots" rule. It's just a squad that now has it, rather than just a character. Just like Snipers do now. I'm still not sure where any confusion is
Creon is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-01-14, 02:50 AM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Every 6 you roll gets allocated where you want, the way I see it. Just like my sniper scouts when they are firing.

Consider that in every instance where Precision Shots are mentioned, 6's allow you the ability to select what model specifically is taking the armour save as opposed to following standard wound allocation procedures.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP

Last edited by ntaw; 05-01-14 at 03:29 AM.
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome