Plague Marines (knife & Blight Grenades? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-28-14, 08:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 268
Reputation: 3
Default Plague Marines (knife & Blight Grenades?

I'm about to use Plague Marines for the first time. Having never used them can anybody clarify my understanding of the Plague Knife and Blight Grenades please?

Plague Knife wounds on a 4+. Does this mean they are suited to attacking high toughness opponents? Are they wasted attacking marines and T4 terminators? Sometimes you get to re roll wounds, so a bit like shred?

Blight Grenades- now I rarely use grenades at all so any thoughts om the attack and defence bonus would help me? What is the ideal scenario to have blight grenades?
Jonny B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-28-14, 09:35 PM
Irn Bru 32!
 
Nacho libre's Avatar
Nacho libre's Flag is: Scotland
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,436
Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny B View Post
I'm about to use Plague Marines for the first time. Having never used them can anybody clarify my understanding of the Plague Knife and Blight Grenades please?

Plague Knife wounds on a 4+. Does this mean they are suited to attacking high toughness opponents? Are they wasted attacking marines and T4 terminators? Sometimes you get to re roll wounds, so a bit like shred?

Blight Grenades- now I rarely use grenades at all so any thoughts om the attack and defence bonus would help me? What is the ideal scenario to have blight grenades?
Blight grenades are defence grenades so I think they do something if someone is assaulting you.
Nacho libre is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 07:17 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 268
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nacho libre View Post
Blight grenades are defence grenades so I think they do something if someone is assaulting you.
So do you reckon you can use these in combat just like you can use grenades in combat againts monstrous creatures?
Jonny B is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

yes you can, but you already have 4+ wounding knives..so...they are just there to negate the bonus charge attack to the enemy and to give shrouded vs 8" fire

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 07:23 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 268
Reputation: 3
Default

Cheers Neferhet. If I was attacking a mc with T6 or even T8. Would I still wound on a 4+? And what about models with an armour value?

In this game I am also including 4 blobs of 5 NM with sonic and blastmasters
Jonny B is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 10:09 AM
Eva
Member
 
Eva's Avatar
Eva's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 97
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny B View Post
Cheers Neferhet. If I was attacking a mc with T6 or even T8. Would I still wound on a 4+? And what about models with an armour value?

In this game I am also including 4 blobs of 5 NM with sonic and blastmasters
Correct. Poisoned 4+ means you always wound a model no matter the toughness value on a roll of 4+. Against things with an armor value they have no effect.

Eva is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 11:37 AM
Irn Bru 32!
 
Nacho libre's Avatar
Nacho libre's Flag is: Scotland
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,436
Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eva View Post
Correct. Poisoned 4+ means you always wound a model no matter the toughness value on a roll of 4+. Against things with an armor value they have no effect.
Thats why i love deldar splinter rifles.
Nacho libre is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Deus Mortis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In a cell for revealing sensitive information regarding the Inquisition
Posts: 2,071
Reputation: 37
Default Plague Marines (knife & Blight Grenades?

The other nice thing about poisoned weapons is if you would normally wound said opponent on the stated roll or better (in this case a 4+ or lower) without the poisoned rule, you get to re-roll your 'To Wound' rolls.

So against anything T4 or lower, Plague Marines get re-rolls to wound in combat.

My contribution to the Renegades saga. Check it out

My growing IIIrd legion stuff:

17th Millenial (Homebrew Fluff) - "Children of the Emperor, death to his foes!" (Project Log)

Also my 30k tacticas, for those of you interested:

Crusade Army List tactica - Individual Legion tactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel of Blood View Post
And for two fucking grand, I could buy enough rum and hookers to 'artistically' recreate the better part of Pirates of the Caribbean.
Deus Mortis is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
the_barwn's Avatar
the_barwn's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maidstone
Posts: 393
Reputation: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deus Mortis View Post
The other nice thing about poisoned weapons is if you would normally wound said opponent on the stated roll or better (in this case a 4+ or lower) without the poisoned rule, you get to re-roll your 'To Wound' rolls.

So against anything T4 or lower, Plague Marines get re-rolls to wound in combat.
Ouch...... Thats nasty, where does it state this? in the codex? or the BRB?


Quote:
Originally Posted by normtheunsavoury View Post
"Hey! I just made a full suit of tactical dreadnought armour!"

"Cool! Does it work?"

"Well, my virginity now has a 2+ invulnerable save so yeah, kinda did "
the_barwn is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-29-14, 01:25 PM
Herald of The Warp
 
Nordicus's Avatar
Nordicus's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 2,752
Reputation: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_barwn View Post
Ouch...... Thats nasty, where does it state this? in the codex? or the BRB?
The BRB. Specifically, it states under the "poison" special rule, that if the attackers strength is equal to, or higher, than the targets toughness, then you get to re-roll failed to-wound rolls

Last edited by Nordicus; 04-29-14 at 01:32 PM.
Nordicus is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome