Confused on Tyranids - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-14, 05:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jdojo18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 468
Reputation: 6
Default Confused on Tyranids

Hey all, I've always been a big fan of the bugs, but I own an Ork army and a guard army, so owning all 3 swarm armies would be a bad move on my part. If I don't like the new guard dex, I'll prolly sell the humans and buy some bugs. I'm confused on one thing (for now) tho.

I've noticed that many of the bigger bugs have two pairs of scything talons in their profile. does this equate to extra attacks?

For instance, the fex has 3 attacks and two pairs of talons. If he charges, does he really have 5 attacks base and 6 on the charge? What if the model has one pair of talons and one pair of rending claws? Do you decide which to use at the beginning of the phase?

Dear Lord the IG has tons of Dakka
Jdojo18 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-14, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: England
Posts: 358
Reputation: 4
Default

no each set of weapons counts as 1 so a set of talons is its normal ccw and the second set gives it +1 attack so the fex has 3 attack +1 for charge + 1 for a second set of talons making it 5 on the charge
loki619 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-14, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Igni Ferroque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 218
Reputation: 2
Default

Loki is bang on the money.

I'd add that the weapons dont have to match, so a carnifex can have crushing claws and scything talons to get the bonus attack.

Even though you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I'm there waiting... and your not coming out alive!
Igni Ferroque is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-14, 07:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jdojo18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 468
Reputation: 6
Default

Ok, that was my next question, Igni. Thanks!

Can I still choose which weapon to use? So If I don't want my Tyrant guard to be unwieldy withh their crushing claws, I can just use their rending claws?

Dear Lord the IG has tons of Dakka
Jdojo18 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-14, 09:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Igni Ferroque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 218
Reputation: 2
Default

Yeh it works just like any model that has two melee weapons.

Even though you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I'm there waiting... and your not coming out alive!
Igni Ferroque is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome