Flying Monstrous Creatures - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 02:16 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 268
Reputation: 3
Default Flying Monstrous Creatures

Can anybody help with my question please?

I'm using Be'lakor and he gets shrouded so hope to use him by staying in ruins a lot so he often gets 2+ cover save.

How does it work with gliding and swooping whilst also being in a ruin?

Thanks, Jon.
Jonny B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 03:30 AM
Senior Member
 
DestroyerHive's Avatar
DestroyerHive's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Your basement
Posts: 1,927
Reputation: 2
Default

Gliding, I believe, makes him count as a Jump Monstrous Creature. This means that he can take cover, but will have to take a dangerous terrain check if he moves (unless he decides to swoop).

However, Be'lakor is assault-based, so keeping him in cover for a 2+ cover save may not be the best idea.


If someone lacks intelligence, than he is not stupid, because one cannot be stupid without intelligence.

If someone reverts to having to complain about your grammar, then you already won.
DestroyerHive is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 03:39 AM
So be it.
 
JAMOB's Avatar
JAMOB's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,900
Reputation: 15
Default

I'm not sure how the rules for flying into terrain work for swooping FMCs, but he does get the save from that I would think. As a FMC he definitely does, but, as stated, dangerous terrain test...

Quote:
If you go down to the woods today, be wary
JAMOB is offline  
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 04:55 AM
JUGGERNUT
 
venomlust's Avatar
venomlust's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,558
Reputation: 32
Default

Be'lakor auto-passes Dangerous Terrain tests, luckily. Telepathy powers can make it very worth cover camping if your army has other units for assaulting.


SUFFER NOT THE PONY TO LIVE.

- - AMATEUR KHORNESTAR: MY BLOG THING - -
venomlust is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 09:51 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 268
Reputation: 3
Default

Cheers for the help so far guys. Im busy in work all day but will probably throw up a few picture scenarios later and maybe you could comment.

On the Jump Monstrous Creature, I saw that in the FMC rules but can't find the JMC rules on the rule book. Can anybody point me in the right direction please?
Jonny B is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 268
Reputation: 3
Default

Another quick one, can he be in cover whilst swooping?
Jonny B is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Ravner298's Avatar
Ravner298's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1,087
Reputation: 1
Default

One of the biggest issues with 6th. Yes he can be swooping and claim cover. He can also be swooping behind Los blocking terrain and if your opponent can't draw Los to him, they can't fire, even though he's flying in the air. As stated he auto passes dangerous terrain tests so there is literally zero drawback to doing it.
Ravner298 is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

a "jump monstrous creature" is simply a MC that can also use the "jump infantry" rules; basically he can move farther than normal, and can get HoW attacks on the charge (which he gets anyways), and can potentially reroll his charge distance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravner298 View Post
Yes he can be swooping and claim cover. He can also be swooping behind Los blocking terrain and if your opponent can't draw Los to him, they can't fire, even though he's flying in the air.
This has always irked me. Only real way around it is to have two differently based models to show the difference.

Or you can explain it in the way everything sci-fi can be explained (with some imagination). Maybe the FMC is flying low enough at that point that you can't see him at all.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-01-14, 09:27 PM
Herald of The Warp
 
Nordicus's Avatar
Nordicus's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 2,752
Reputation: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravner298 View Post
One of the biggest issues with 6th. Yes he can be swooping and claim cover. He can also be swooping behind Los blocking terrain and if your opponent can't draw Los to him, they can't fire, even though he's flying in the air. As stated he auto passes dangerous terrain tests so there is literally zero drawback to doing it.
Seriously? I always thought that when swooping all terrain etc was forfeit as he was way up in the air :O
Nordicus is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome