Biker with CC weapon - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-19-07, 06:57 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Default Biker with CC weapon

I was told recently that bikers can't have a close combat weapon bonus is this true?? then why would they model the crozium on to the bike chapy?
Nivlac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-19-07, 07:43 AM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

close combat weapon bonus is having 2 combat weapons to get an extra attack. seeing as bikers cant use 2 combat weapons and still control their bike, they cant get the bonus.

they can however get bonuses for power weapons, fists and stuff but just not 2 CCW
cccp is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-19-07, 02:48 PM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

Actually, CCCP, you're wrong when it comes to Space Marine Bikes.

Chaos bikes explicitly say that you DO NOT get the extra attack for 2 CCWs, but they have spikes that add an extra attack.

Meanwhile, space marine bikes have NO SUCH NOTATION
however, space marine bikers (except for veteran sarges) are only ever armed with nothing but the bike bolters, or a two-handed assault weapon. So the issue rarely comes up.

However if you buy your sarge, or IC a pistol and a CCW, or power fist, etc. there is absolutely, positively nothing in the rules to prohibit him having an extra attack.

And before anyone says anything about it making no sense, how does having a bolt pistol in the other hand make it so you can swing your powerfist more times when you're on foot?

What's to say he's not steering with those mysteriously useless foot pedals on the floor plate? Perhaps he has an autosense link to the bike's machine spirit? Run a wire from his helmet into the console between the handlebars if you want to worry about it.

But bottom line is, according to the rules, a Space Marine (but not a chaos marine) can have two close combat weapons and still get the bonus attack. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise because the rules are on your side.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-19-07, 10:13 PM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

er galahad, i believe you are right ehen it comes to csm, but wrong when comes to loyalist. i believe it says in the BGB that bikers can never have an extra attack for two CCW due to the need to control the bike.

yes, you can buy him a BP and CCW, but im sure that he can never claim the bonus. having a BP does not help the sarge swing his fist more times. it counts as a ccw because it then be used to pistol whip or fire at incredibly close range, therefore feasably granting an extra attack.

this is then worked out as a powerfist attack as otherwise it would take a week to play the game, simple as.
cccp is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-20-07, 12:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jigplums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,602
Reputation: 5
Default

its not in the BGB, just a common misconception out there. Yes you can get the bonus for ccw on bike

Check out my gamer Blog
http://gamergeekery.blogspot.co.uk/2...rs-in-40k.html

Jezlad "I actually commented that Jigplums list was the least scary list I faced. Then took a pasting"
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/jigplums
http://www.coolminiornot.com/160095
jigplums is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-20-07, 01:39 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

CCCP, you're holding over an old rule from third. It's not there anymore.
uberschveinen is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-20-07, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Default

thanks for the repleys
Nivlac is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-20-07, 07:40 AM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
cccp is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-20-07, 09:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 76
Default

It takes a big man to admit that.
Nivlac is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-23-07, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Ordo Xeno Commander's Avatar
Ordo Xeno Commander's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,374
Reputation: 1
Default

haha sure does :lol:
Ordo Xeno Commander is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome