Misplaced Mawloc - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default Misplaced Mawloc

Can a Mawloc that's suffered a Misplaced result be placed over friendly units?

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Jdojo18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 468
Reputation: 6
Default

ooooo that's a good one >.> I don't see why not because it isn't considered an attack, but an outcome of its movement.

I'd discuss it with my tyranid buddy before doing it tho. Definitely something that needs to be discussed. Whenever I place my opponent's mawloc I just place it near all of my meltas/plasma and watch it burn on my turn, but if I can hit my buddy's units with it then I might do that.

Dear Lord the IG has tons of Dakka
Jdojo18 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

I ask as it was featured in a recent MWG batrep of Necrons vs New Tyranids, in which a Mawloc mishapped and the Necron player put it in one corner. It burrowed and came back to do some major damage. Meanwhile, there was a giant blob of Tyranids in the middle.

Can it mishap twice in a turn? Because I can see it being quite amusing if you keep having it Misplaced and destroy the whole Tyranid army with it.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 05:42 PM
The Tinkerer
 
Wookiepelt's Avatar
Wookiepelt's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tree House 526, Kashyyyk
Posts: 832
Reputation: 56
Default

Just re-read the "Terror from the Deep" special rule and I think this is legit!

Quote:
When arriving from Deep Strike Reserve, a Mawloc can choose to Deep Strike onto a point occupied by another model (friend or foe) - roll for scatter as normal...
Obviously this only happens after the second failed attempt by the Nid player to clear the area of the original Deep Strike location and subsequently rolls 2-3 for the Misplaced result. Then the opponent appears to get the chance to throw the same medicine back at the Nid player!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSun View Post
Can it mishap twice in a turn? Because I can see it being quite amusing if you keep having it Misplaced and destroy the whole Tyranid army with it.
I don't see why not but if so, this Nid player must be the unluckiest follower of the Great Devourer!!!

Don't leave us engineers with too much free time on our hands...
we WILL tinker around and build something!!!


Wookie's Wolfies - A Space Wolves Project Log

Last edited by Wookiepelt; 01-22-14 at 05:44 PM.
Wookiepelt is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookiepelt View Post
Just re-read the "Terror from the Deep" special rule and I think this is legit!
Well, the Codex says you can. This is win.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookiepelt View Post
Obviously this only happens after the second failed attempt by the Nid player to clear the area of the original Deep Strike location and subsequently rolls 2-3 for the Misplaced result. Then the opponent appears to get the chance to throw the same medicine back at the Nid player!!!
>Place over Tyrant with 3 Tyrant Guard
>Cover all four models
>Can't kill all of them with first hit
>Hits again
>8 hits, 4 wounds
>Allocate from blast centre
>Kills Tyrant but not Tyrant Guard
>Mawloc mishaps again

Pure. Profit.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 06:53 PM
The Tinkerer
 
Wookiepelt's Avatar
Wookiepelt's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tree House 526, Kashyyyk
Posts: 832
Reputation: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSun View Post
Well, the Codex says you can. This is win.



>Place over Tyrant with 3 Tyrant Guard
>Cover all four models
>Can't kill all of them with first hit
>Hits again
>8 hits, 4 wounds
>Allocate from blast centre
>Kills Tyrant but not Tyrant Guard
>Mawloc mishaps again

Pure. Profit.
But in reality I think this is very unlikely to happen considering that The Terror from the Deep placement "Attack" is effectively a large blast S6 AP2 hit on all models under the template with re-rolls to wound. If it really happens that Nid player will be scarred for life!!!

Don't leave us engineers with too much free time on our hands...
we WILL tinker around and build something!!!


Wookie's Wolfies - A Space Wolves Project Log
Wookiepelt is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookiepelt View Post
But in reality I think this is very unlikely to happen considering that The Terror from the Deep placement "Attack" is effectively a large blast S6 AP2 hit on all models under the template with re-rolls to wound. If it really happens that Nid player will be scarred for life!!!
The thing is, if it hits an Independant Character in the unit then there's a pretty reasonable chance that it will be Look Out Sir'd, and if they're on the outer edge of the template then just a normal Character can Look Out Sir stuff too (especially if it's, I dunno, a Nob Leader or something that can take one of the hits or someone with an Invuln).

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 09:16 PM
The Tinkerer
 
Wookiepelt's Avatar
Wookiepelt's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tree House 526, Kashyyyk
Posts: 832
Reputation: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSun View Post
The thing is, if it hits an Independant Character in the unit then there's a pretty reasonable chance that it will be Look Out Sir'd, and if they're on the outer edge of the template then just a normal Character can Look Out Sir stuff too (especially if it's, I dunno, a Nob Leader or something that can take one of the hits or someone with an Invuln).
Fair point... just did some trial dice rolls simulating Mawloc deep striking into 5 Assault Termis with SS 2+/3+ Inv. and after two goes at clearing the site, I was still left with 2 Termis standing! Hmm... lesson here, don't deep strike into Termis or Indy Characters! Go for the bog-standard MEQ, which I trialled as well, and you'll clear the squad (= 1 victory point) & area fairly quickly.

Don't leave us engineers with too much free time on our hands...
we WILL tinker around and build something!!!


Wookie's Wolfies - A Space Wolves Project Log
Wookiepelt is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 09:38 PM Thread Starter
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookiepelt View Post
Fair point... just did some trial dice rolls simulating Mawloc deep striking into 5 Assault Termis with SS 2+/3+ Inv. and after two goes at clearing the site, I was still left with 2 Termis standing! Hmm... lesson here, don't deep strike into Termis or Indy Characters! Go for the bog-standard MEQ, which I trialled as well, and you'll clear the squad (= 1 victory point) & area fairly quickly.
Agreed - avoid Invulnerables and Independant Characters, they have adamantium boot soles!

But yeah, it's gonna wipe Marines or Tau units, so go for it.

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

I don't have a problem with the opponent getting to use the Mawloc's ability against the Tyranid player. But in the unlikely event that the Mawloc mishaps and rolls Misplaced again, does it go back to the Tyranid player's control?

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome