Void Shields and hits - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-20-14, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default Void Shields and hits

I'm OK with figuring out something like 4 lascannon shots on a unit within a void shield, but have questions regarding something like a S10 large blast that hits 4 models under a void shield.

Does that count as 1 hit on the void shield or up to 4 hits? In order for the void shield to start taking hits for the unit it has to have first been "hit" by the large blast, which would be 4 hits. Is it that simple since the unit first needs to get hit before the void shield does anything? or are people going with the fluffy thing where the shell hasn't hit yet so only counts once? or what?

Really only looking for RAW on this since opinions aren't really relevant. If it is really 4 hits then void shields don't really seem to be that good at all, especially since normal buildings can only buy a total of 1 void shield.

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-14, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Pssyche's Avatar
Pssyche's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 4
Default

It's one hit on the Void Shield.
You've only hit it once.

If it helps you to visualise it, think of throwing a grenade at a target Unit.
Now place a sheet of glass in between.
Your grenade might well cause five wounds on your target Unit, but it only has one chance to break the glass.

Though I take your life, I promise you the stars...
Pssyche is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-14, 04:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default

A hit on the target is instead a hit on the void shield, but by the time you have determined that the target was hit you have 4 hits (since you cannot hit the target without placing the large blast marker and determining that it is actually 4 hits). That is the part I am hung up on. It is like you are going backwards in steps, and the rules for void shields don't really ever sound like you directly attack them but instead kind of Look Out Sir the hits to the shield and you have 4 hits, not just the 1.

The way you say it it is probably more balanced from a gameplay point of view, but the example doesn't really help since there are many rules in the game that don't match what would happen irl, fluffy, laws of physics, etc.

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-14, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Pssyche's Avatar
Pssyche's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,146
Reputation: 4
Default

Have it your own way.
Enjoy.

Though I take your life, I promise you the stars...
Pssyche is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-14, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Jdojo18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 468
Reputation: 6
Default

It seems that the general consensus online is that it only hits the shield once. Pssyche has it right, but if you want to play it that way just be sure your opponent knows.

Dear Lord the IG has tons of Dakka
Jdojo18 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-22-14, 01:45 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default

Can't say I really "care", it was mostly something that seemed weird about the rule. If I don't argue on one side then there wouldn't really be a question/discussion.

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome