Allies - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-07, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
Slave to Heresy!
Jezlad's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 8,803
Reputation: 26
Default Allies

Is it legal to take a Command Platoon, Creed and an Inquisitor Lord ally for Callidus access?

Choosing the side, screwing the opponents deployment and launching a Callidus attack seems pretty nasty. Maybe a little expensive...

If only I had my guard case. Can you ask Nathan to bring it Sunday Jigplums?
Jezlad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 03:07 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

Does Creed come with the option to include him in a Command Platoon, or is he a seperate HQ slot?

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 07:03 AM
Porn King!!!
 
The Wraithlord's Avatar
The Wraithlord's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8,137
Reputation: 5
Default

Not 100% on this Jez but I am fairly sure that all 3 count as an HQ choice. You could possibly take the Elites Inq for the assassin.

one thing I want is the ability to split my fire everywhere, it makes no sense that a squad of 10 guard or marines or whatever all have to fire at 1 target with everything, is the guy with the lascannon not smart enough to realize maybe he would be better off firing at the massive tank looming overhead instead of the little man no bigger than a squat running at him, or is that far too complex for the 10yr olds?

My Thousand Sons Project Log
My Warriors of Chaos Project Log
My Cryx Project Log
My Necron Project Log
The Wraithlord is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 08:09 AM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

an inquisitor lord counts as a hq. but, why are you thinking of taking creed anyway? the isnt that great.
cccp is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
LongBeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Macclesfield
Posts: 630
Default

No can do I'm afraid, with the Assassin being an Elite choice theres no way of squeezing them all In.
As far as Creed and Kell go re-rolling for first turn or choosing board edge can make a massive difference If you tune your army around them.
Kell not too shabby In combat either! :D

''I Beard therefore I am!''

LongBeard (AKA Bennetio!)
LongBeard is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 05:26 PM Thread Starter
Slave to Heresy!
Jezlad's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 8,803
Reputation: 26
Default

I wasn't sure, reading this made it confusing.

http://www.tauonline.org/ViewContent.php?id=107

Quote:

Liber Heresius - The most incredible item an Inquisitor can take. Its actually relatively cheap for its very strong ability to give you control over your game and opponent. Choosing a deployment zone is very powerful, especially in missions where it is able to be used. For added power, it is greatly coupled with the Callidus Assassin who can alter deployment as well. And for the really masterful tactician, it is yet another tool for the Imperial Guard player who fields Ursarkar Creed and takes the Inquisitor with the Liber Heresius as an ally. This combination of Creed, Inquisitor and Calldius Assassin will allow you to choose the mission being played, choose the board edge you want, enhance your probability to have the first turn and move a unit up to 6 inches after deployment but before the game starts. This is incredibly powerful at wrecking an opponent's setup and strategy.
is this bollocks then?
Jezlad is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 05:54 PM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

well you can take an inquisitor as an elites choice. i dont know what a liber heresius is though
cccp is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
Slave to Heresy!
Jezlad's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 8,803
Reputation: 26
Default

So you could take them all?

it'd be nasty moving someones favourite unit into the open, get first turn, drop 3 pie plates on its head then assault with the callidus.

This could come in especially handy if you moved the unit towards your infiltrated vet squads for rapid fire plasma.
Jezlad is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
LongBeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Macclesfield
Posts: 630
Default

Creed and Kell HQ
Command Plattoon HQ
DH allies allow you take a single Elite slot so basically you can get the Inquisitor with his Liber Heresius but not the Assassin, could still be usefull for choosing board edge AND re-rolling first turn although a tad expensive.
Quote:
is this bollocks then?
To summarise, yes. You can't choose the mission either, If you roll a six for mission choice and It goes to strategy rating THEN you get to choose. :roll:
Back In the day I used to use Creed and kell In combination with mini vet squads, Infiltrate hope the re-roll goes well then BANG first turn plasma/melta death, a bit hit and miss but amusing all the same.

''I Beard therefore I am!''

LongBeard (AKA Bennetio!)
LongBeard is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-05-07, 06:22 PM Thread Starter
Slave to Heresy!
Jezlad's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Essex
Posts: 8,803
Reputation: 26
Default

Quote:
Creed and Kell HQ
Command Plattoon HQ
DH allies allow you take a single Elite slot so basically you can get the Inquisitor with his Liber Heresius but not the Assassin, could still be usefull for choosing board edge AND re-rolling first turn although a tad expensive.
Quote:
is this bollocks then?

To summarise, yes!
:scratch: bugger
Jezlad is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome