Illic Nightspear's "The Walker of The Hidden Path" rule - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-04-13, 08:09 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 423
Reputation: 7
Default Illic Nightspear's "The Walker of The Hidden Path" rule

This rule says that Illic has the infiltrate usr and may deploy anywhere on the board regardless of enemy proximity; my question is, does this apply to a unit he joins *during deployment?

The Grey Knights: Because Huzzah for Blind Faith and Unreasonable Hatred!

Last edited by Routine; 10-04-13 at 08:27 AM.
Routine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-04-13, 09:36 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

I'm going to say yes it does as the Infiltrate USR does get conferred on a squad that an IC with Infiltrate joins.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-13, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
w0lfgang7's Avatar
w0lfgang7's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Reputation: 2
Default

But doesn't the IC join the unit after he deploys, or vice versa? So, either he's deployed and a unit without infiltrate can't get near him, or it does have infiltrate and can't get close to him either due to the proximity of the enemy. Or, the unit has already deployed and then illic joins them when he deploys, therefore since the unit already deployed, it lost the ability to go anywhere on the board. I've seen the topic before and was sure that it ended with while Illic could deploy anywhere it didn't let you make an "illic bomb" by sneaking illic and an attached unit anywhere on the board.
w0lfgang7 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-13, 04:35 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

No an IC can join a unit before deployment no worries there
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-06-13, 01:25 AM
Senior Member
 
w0lfgang7's Avatar
w0lfgang7's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Reputation: 2
Default

I've been told that there was an FAQ for 5th that allowed you to join ICs to units before deployment, then place them on the table. But, that FAQ was removed with the release of 6th edition.

Potential gimmick: attach Illic Nightspear to a unit of 10 Wraithguard all with D-scythes and infiltrate the unit into your opponents face.

Went back and looked at the BRB and Codex, and this is what I'm seeing.

Doesn't work because you can only attach an IC to a unit by placing it on the table within coherency, or by putting him reserves with the unit (page 39). The wraithguard are required to deploy on the table or be committed to reserve before the Illic gets a chance to join them, so they can never benefit from his infiltrate rule (other than using it to outflank) since the scytheguard must deploy normally and Illic deploys last as an infiltrator (page 121).

Units don't join each other in the infiltrator pool either, so while Illic and Karandras or a bunch of Scorpions in a Serpent could complete their deployment in coherency, Karandras/Scorpions would be restricted to the normal 12/18 inch bubble from enemy units before being joined by Illic or being placed on the table.

I'm not seeing how to confer Illic's special infiltration to a unit before deployment.

On the other hand, it would be really cool to be wrong and find a RAW way to be able to sneak in a unit by conferring infiltrate to it, or get other infiltrators into even better positions by taking advantage of Illic's ability to bypass the normal 12/18" restrictions.
w0lfgang7 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome