Multiple Mindshackle Scarabs - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-02-13, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Karnox's Avatar
Karnox's Flag is: Russia
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 309
Reputation: 1
Default Multiple Mindshackle Scarabs

I was looking into making a new list with my necrons and one of the things I came across was that you can give Necron Lords Mindshackle Scarabs, thus if you dont split your royal court up it means that you can potentially have 6 mindshackle scarabs in a squad. The Overlord and 5 Lords.

So I can then understand if you were fighting a combat in which say your 6 models were against 10 marines you can mindshackle up to 6 of them.

But Say if you are in combat with 1 monstrous creature. Does the creature take only 1 test, or will it have to take 6 tests until either 1 is failed or it passes all 6.


When life gives you lemons..... BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!
Karnox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-13, 12:33 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

The Mindshackle Scarabs are pretty brutal.

From my reading of the rule and Updates I can't see any reason why multiple leadership test wouldn't have to be taken.

The MC would only make one set of attacks tho' so once he'd failed a test there would be no point in resolving the others.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 10-03-13 at 04:06 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-13, 01:49 AM
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default

if you had multiple characters in a squad..1 got challanged, then they others say a sgt and reclusiarch wouldnt they have to test aswell?
fatmantis is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-13, 02:47 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Karnox's Avatar
Karnox's Flag is: Russia
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 309
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
The MC would only make one set of attacks tho' so once he'd failed a test there would be no point in resolving the others.
Yeah I know he would only hit himself once, or D3 times, but if he passed the first test, would he then have to take another, then another until he failed, or on the unlikely chance, passed all 6.


When life gives you lemons..... BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!
Karnox is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-13, 04:05 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatmantis View Post
if you had multiple characters in a squad..1 got challanged, then they others say a sgt and reclusiarch wouldnt they have to test aswell?
Why? Once you're in a challenge the MSS can only work against your challangee


Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnox View Post
Yeah I know he would only hit himself once, or D3 times, but if he passed the first test, would he then have to take another, then another until he failed, or on the unlikely chance, passed all 6.
Yes, sorry I missed a "n't" in my first post
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-13, 11:58 AM
Herald of The Warp
 
Nordicus's Avatar
Nordicus's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 2,752
Reputation: 143
Default

God I hope the Necron player in my group doesn't read this post... I will never see the end of such a setup.

Goddamn Mindshackle Scarabs. The bane of my being!
Nordicus is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-13, 12:07 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

The trick is to get plenty of cheap crap characters in to challenge.

If the necron challenges, then you accept it with a crap character who will only be able to hurt himself.

If he doesn't challenge, then you challenge.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-13, 04:20 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

I reckon you'd take multiple tests, yeah.

Another trick is to kill the hundreds and hundreds of points worth of 5-not-even-Plague-Marines before they reach you. If it's single characters in squads, force him out of the fight with your assault vector.

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-04-13, 05:02 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Karnox's Avatar
Karnox's Flag is: Russia
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 309
Reputation: 1
Default

Well I worked out the points and its 760 for an overlord with 2+ 3++, MSS, Scythe, Orb. Then 5 Lords with 2+, MSS, Scythe, then A harbinger of despair for teleports, and 4 harbingers of the storm for 12" Assault 4 haywire guns. Yeah the Lords only have 1 wound, but with a 2+ armour they are harder to kill than lychguard, and with the res orb it means they are getting back up on a 4+
Also if get rid of the harbinger of despair then put the unit in a ghost ark turn one and because its open topped they can assault out of it for added protection. Its a really expensive HQ choice but I think maybe for 3000 point games you could probably take it. Especially if the Scarabs work as I would imagine and make you take multiple tests.


When life gives you lemons..... BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!
Karnox is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-04-13, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Setite's Avatar
Setite's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 101
Reputation: 1
Default

The MSS are fun to spam like that (once in a while...I want to keep playing). One thing, If you're getting the Harbringers of the storm, spend the extra points on the lightning field. I usually go with the crystal too, but for me it seems every other game I have some sterngaurd or deathwing dropping right next to me.
Setite is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome