Multiple Attacks - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-01-08, 06:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default Multiple Attacks

This may sound like an easy question, but I have gone through the rulebook many times and haven't been able to find the answer. I probably just don't know the answer because of my inexperience.

Say a character has two base attacks on his profile without any attack modifiers (charging, extra weapon, etc.) He also has a powersword. Does this character make both of his base attacks using the powersword, or does he make one attack with the powersword and the other as a normal close combat weapon? Is only one special attack allowed?

Similarly, are extra charge attacks made using the powersword, or as a normal close combat weapon?

Danny
danny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-01-08, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
chaos vince's Avatar
chaos vince's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 311
Reputation: 1
Default

all the attacks are from power weapon, as far as for combat resolution wounds those allow armor saves(when fighting fearless armies)

when you gotta shoot, shoot. Don't talk...
chaos vince is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-01-08, 11:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1
Default

it says it in the section for special CC weapons I think. but yeah you use the effect of a special weapon of your choice(one a turn) with every attack the model has

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-08, 03:39 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

p46 touches on it, but basically if you have a special close combat attack (power fist, for example) then you either use it on *all* of your attacks, or *none* of them. Similarly, if you have multiple kinds of special close combat attack, you pick one (or none) and apply it to all of your attacks.

So if you have 2 base attacks and are carrying a chainsword and a Powerfist (getting +1 attack for 2 weapons) then you can either make 3 attacks with the powerfist at Initiative 1 (but with double strength and ignoring saves), or you can make 3 attacks with the Chainsword at your normal initiative, but also your normal strength and the enemy's normal save.

But you cannot mix and match.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome