Terrify, Close Combat and You - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-13, 01:00 AM Thread Starter
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default Terrify, Close Combat and You

This is a fairly straightforward question

You have a unit locked in CC with a enemy squad. You cast the malediction Terrify from the BRB onto the enemy unit in CC (as per page 69) they then fail their Morale check. When this happens is the enemy unit who failed a morale check in CC subject to a sweeping advance?

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-13, 01:37 AM
Senior Member
 
locustgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Planet 404
Posts: 2,353
Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
Stuff
The book says treat it like you would if the enemy, your, unit had fear.
locustgate is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-13, 04:50 AM Thread Starter
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by locustgate View Post
The book says treat it like you would if the enemy, your, unit had fear.
Yes, but it also forces a moral check, when you fail your morale check in CC you typical fall back and can be caught in a sweeping advance. Normally this happens at the end of combat, in this instance Terrify is cast at the start of the movement phase.

So my question is at the start of the movement phase if you cast terrify on a enemy unit locked in CC with one of your units, who then fails their morale check, what happens? Do you treat it as normal and if they fail you can sweep them?

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-13, 09:53 AM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

I haven't got my rulebook to hand but I think you'd be able to Sweep; if you fail morale in combat you get swept. ATSKNF buggers the whole equation up, but what's new?

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-13, 11:57 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Falling back from combat does not in itself generate the opportunity for a sweeping advance, failing the required morale check due to losing combat does.

So my thought would be that the unit simply falls back, with no other actions being performed by the now disengaged enemy, as the falling back unit has not lost the combat.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-13, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
Falling back from combat does not in itself generate the opportunity for a sweeping advance, failing the required morale check due to losing combat does.

So my thought would be that the unit simply falls back, with no other actions being performed by the now disengaged enemy, as the falling back unit has not lost the combat.
Thats what I was thinking as well, would the unit engaged get a consolidation move however? As most situations where someone leaves combat you end up with that, but as is obvious this is a unusual circumstance.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-13, 12:07 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
Thats what I was thinking as well, would the unit engaged get a consolidation move however? As most situations where someone leaves combat you end up with that, but as is obvious this is a unusual circumstance.
Depends when you consider it be be "end of a combat".

My gut feel is that if you restrict Sweeping Advance to the assault phase then you should do same for Consolidation.

The situation of an enemy unit being able to move D6 in your shooting phase, if a blast marker scattered and killed your own blokes in a combat, would be a bit weird.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-13, 12:40 AM Thread Starter
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
Depends when you consider it be be "end of a combat".

My gut feel is that if you restrict Sweeping Advance to the assault phase then you should do same for Consolidation.

The situation of an enemy unit being able to move D6 in your shooting phase, if a blast marker scattered and killed your own blokes in a combat, would be a bit weird.
Well the spell is cast in your own movement phase, so i wouldn't worry about a blast scattering over them

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-19-13, 12:51 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
Well the spell is cast in your own movement phase, so i wouldn't worry about a blast scattering over them
That's not what I am talking about.

The situation of a scattering blast destroying one of the units locked in combat is similar to Terrify "ending a combat" out of the usual phase.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-24-13, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

Magpie is right, although not for the reason he stated. In order to make a sweeping advance you have to "Win" Combat. As they just run away there isn't really a winner in said combat.

And before you go all "well if they run away I win!" No. The BRB defines winning combat as causing more unsaved wounds then the other side.

As for Consolidation moves, the BRB just says "At the end of combat" Which even if there was no winner combat is still over, so you do get to make a consolidation.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome