Jink and Ignores COver USR - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-10-13, 02:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default Jink and Ignores COver USR

I'm curious about your take on this issue.
Do Ignores cover USR affects vehicles that are not "hull down" ? A jinking vehicle will be affected by this rule? or just an Hull down vehicle can have his cover save denied?

I've posted the same question here, in the new TALKWARGAMING chat!
http://host71690.123flashchat.com/TalkWargaming/
come join the discussion!
cheers

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-10-13, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default

what do you mean by "hull down"?
fatmantis is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-10-13, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

BRB pag. 74, "hull down" or Obscured ;)

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-10-13, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default

so what was the verdict from the chat?
fatmantis is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-10-13, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

As I don't have my rulebook with me, I'm going to have to make my interpretation in If Statement form. If the special rule "Ignores Cover" does not specifically say it doesn't apply to Jink cover saves, and If the special rule Jink does not specifically say it is immune to "Ignores Cover" and If Jink specifically says it grants yu a 5+ "cover save" then Ignores Cover will deny the Jink cover save. Else, (if any of these If statements are not met) Ignores Cover does not deny the Jink cover save.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 04:17 AM
Senior Member
 
falcoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,384
Reputation: 23
Default

Jink just gives a cover save and hull down is +1 to cover save, if cover is ignored then you won't get any save if the rules are specified as cover saves. Otherwise there is nothing to stop a skimmer jinking in CC

Me: To be honest im amazed there isn't a chaos god of not revising or at least chaos god of procrastination

MidnightSun: There will be, when enough people do it. Y'know when the Eldar were all engaging in their hedonism and Slaanesh ripped open the Eye of Terror with his creation? Slaanesh will have NOTHING on the God of Procrastination, and his vile minions will carve the galaxy asunder in a thousand year reign of blood.... Tomorrow
falcoso is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Jink grants a cover save. Anything that Ignores Cover will not allow a Jink save because it disallows all cover saves. Think of it this way. The Flamer is bathing the area in fire, kind of creating a wall. While your Skimmer's speed may allow it to dodge a bullet, flying through a wall of fire still hurts.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
neferhet's Avatar
neferhet's Flag is: Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 3,694
Reputation: 57
Default

The thing I keep to notice is that everyone is misleaded by the rule name "ignore cover".
The rule itself however says that you cannot take cover saves against WOUNDS inflicted by such a shot. that was my question, since vehicles cannot take wounds unless obscured. We can always say that "actually the rule was intended in this way; the writer wanted to say..." etc...but the truth is that the rule does not affect the hit in itself but only the wound inflicted. A nice guy on the chatroom (Zion, if I recall?) is going to submit a request of clarification to GW. Because RAW the rule is not affecting vehicles (and again, RAW, you cannot deny this )

The Legion of Perfects Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lux View Post
The calls of Slaneesh stir so deeply within me, as if I was birthed from the very essence of it. For my ambition to infinitely ascend above all is never ending, like fire within it burns me to ever cindering ash. Lord of light and ascension is who I am, realities burn to ash at my very passing. My luminescence is unparalleled for I am luminosity itself, all light is but a shadow of my silhouette
neferhet is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
brianlynchmob's Avatar
brianlynchmob's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 192
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neferhet View Post
The thing I keep to notice is that everyone is misleaded by the rule name "ignore cover".
The rule itself however says that you cannot take cover saves against WOUNDS inflicted by such a shot. that was my question, since vehicles cannot take wounds unless obscured. We can always say that "actually the rule was intended in this way; the writer wanted to say..." etc...but the truth is that the rule does not affect the hit in itself but only the wound inflicted. A nice guy on the chatroom (Zion, if I recall?) is going to submit a request of clarification to GW. Because RAW the rule is not affecting vehicles (and again, RAW, you cannot deny this )

There is also "vehicles take cover saves EXACTLY like a non vehicle model would do against a WOUND"
Plus vehicles can take invuln saves, another thing used against wounds.

so RAW ignores cover would effect vehicles as well.
brianlynchmob is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-11-13, 08:04 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianlynchmob View Post
There is also "vehicles take cover saves EXACTLY like a non vehicle model would do against a WOUND"
Plus vehicles can take invuln saves, another thing used against wounds.

so RAW ignores cover would effect vehicles as well.

What page number is that one on?

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome