Drop Pod doubt... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-28-08, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
The_Pi's Avatar
The_Pi's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barcelona, Terra
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1
Default Drop Pod doubt...

When you deepstrike in a drop pod, the unit inside can act like getting off a transport or like deepstriking without the drop pod?

The_Pi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-29-08, 12:15 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 132
Default

when the drop pod hits the ground, the troops inside immediately disembark, counting as moving.they cannot assault on the turn thay arrive, at least i dont think so.
hurt-wm is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-29-08, 01:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1
Default

The unit inside immediately disembarks, count as moving, can fire but again count as moving and cannot assault..... with 5th. and run they can run but not fire I think...

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-29-08, 11:20 AM
Lax
Senior Member
 
Lax's Avatar
Lax's Flag is: France
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nice, France
Posts: 144
Reputation: 1
Default

They can only shoot or run (to make it more simple).

With luck, GW could make the drop pod an "assault vehicle" in the new codex to boost sales and to go with the aggro spirit of the the V5 :D

I'm thinking of it because for now, pods are good for :
-Dropping a tactical squad on an objective
-Dropping a dreadnought
-Dropping a shooting terminator squad
-Making a cover on the battleground

But is this enough ? Through all the discussions on it, those 50 points are not totally justified

Blood Angels since 1993, what else ?
Latest update : Bought and painted a stormraven... (07/12)
Lax is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-29-08, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
njfed's Avatar
njfed's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 365
Reputation: 1
Default

The 50 points pay for two abilities:
1. Always reaching the drop point alive, vs deep strike where really bad stuff happens.
2. Allowing your army to start on the map right where you want them to, be it on an objective or getting your heavy flamer next to that unit of genestealers.

Look at it this way:
1. the pod lands
2. the troops have to unstrap
3. the doors have to drop open

All this time the enemy has been doing what?

Yes, I will be using the lash on that unit again so I may touch your models a second time.
njfed is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-29-08, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1
Default

running away from a dreadnought that's been shot straight at them obviously

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-01-08, 09:21 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
The_Pi's Avatar
The_Pi's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Barcelona, Terra
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1
Default

I read that you can assault the turn you disembark from an open topped vehicle, like the pod is, so... damn contradictory rules!!!

The_Pi is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-01-08, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1
Default

It is technically just safer depstriking. Plus you have a defence station now when they land =)

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-02-08, 12:11 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Default

in the dark angels codex it says that you can assault the turn you disembark, but thats just dark angels i believe

The Unhappy Sasquatch
Sasquatch is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-02-08, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1
Default

probably is sasquatch as BA and vanilla marines state that they can't assault after deepstriking... Lucky dark angels and their deathwing*incoherent mumbling*

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome