Iron Clad (Dread) assault launchers - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1
Default Iron Clad (Dread) assault launchers

Hey you Venerables, help out a 40k Newbie, and Hello-I'm new here!

OK ICD Ass/laun ?
offers both Assault grenades and Defensive -Right codex pg103

Do Defensive grenades give me -SHOOTING-6th rule book pg62
does the Dread get STEALTH SPECIAL RULE Also ? -6th RB pg42


Many Thanks
40koverload is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Welcome! In short: yes.

Your dreadnought does have both assault and defensive grenades, and will get some sweet cover saves provided the unit shooting you is within 8". You also deny the +1 attack charging bonus which is pretty awesome.

Something I'm suddenly more interested in knowing is if assault launchers count as weapons towards a 'weapon destroyed' result from the vehicle damage table?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Welcome! In short: yes.

Your dreadnought does have both assault and defensive grenades, and will get some sweet cover saves provided the unit shooting you is within 8". You also deny the +1 attack charging bonus which is pretty awesome.

Something I'm suddenly more interested in knowing is if assault launchers count as weapons towards a 'weapon destroyed' result from the vehicle damage table?
I'm fairly certain that the Assault Launchers state 'the unit counts as being equipped with...' So I'd say no, because there's no way to Weapon Destroyed grenades.

Xabre is offline  
 
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

It says 'counts as being armed with' but I still agree with what you said. There's no wild difference between equipped and armed that I am ignoring, is there?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

well, the real question is less the wording and more: can you normally destroy grenades? Can you FIRE grenades? They're really not weapons, they're wargear.

Xabre is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Welcome! In short: yes.

Your dreadnought does have both assault and defensive grenades, and will get some sweet cover saves provided the unit shooting you is within 8". You also deny the +1 attack charging bonus which is pretty awesome.

Something I'm suddenly more interested in knowing is if assault launchers count as weapons towards a 'weapon destroyed' result from the vehicle damage table?
So would you say the ICD would get the STEALTH RULE?-thanks
40koverload is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 08:13 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Only if the unit shooting at it is 8" or less from the ICD.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-03-13, 05:02 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
Can you FIRE grenades?
Yes you can. Check Page 61. The assault launcher does now give the Dread another weapon that can fire an S3 blast out to 8 "
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-03-13, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Huh. Interesting. However, even reading that rule, it still doesn't really feel like it's a weapon that can be destroyed, but still wargear with the option to forgo shooting for a specialized attack.

Xabre is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-03-13, 03:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1
Default

I don't think even GW knows, called them-they say its a given that the Dread has Grenades like scouts have in their profile-but the dread dosent have grenades in its profile-ONCE you purchase the option of a Grenade launcher for pts cost per codex-The launcher comes with Assault/Defensive grenades codex pg103-but gw agrees that the defensive grenades ability affords you the Stealth Special Rule always giving you + cover save out in the open (within 8inch) and + to being in terrain if being fired upon in the 8 inch range (I imagine as long as you still have the launcher)

Am I allowed to show these Values in this post? if not I will Edit out-its just hard to discuss games rules based on points/points cost and values without showing the #-But i'm new here and want to abide-so Please LMK and I will fix ASAP!

Last edited by 40koverload; 07-03-13 at 06:45 PM.
40koverload is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome