Iron Clad (Dread) assault launchers - Page 3 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-04-13, 12:48 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40koverload View Post
Clearly that makes perfect sense in this reality, but in 40k reality a sniper -someone with a precision Long range weapon and expertise skill -you would think a lot of training would be involved-has the same BS as anyone else
One word. Vindicare. (BS8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Glad to see some other people thinking they are weapons. I agree, Galahad. If it can shoot, it's a weapon on a vehicle that can be destroyed.
It's even more than that. As the assault grenade shooting attack is a blast then it stands to reason that if a vehicle with an assault launcher or the Land Raider's Frag Assault Launchers has moved more than 6" it can't fire the shooting attack as blasts can't do snap shots.

I'd be talking all this over with my opponent before the game but by the new rules there is nothing to prevent this interpretation. No that I can see anyway.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 07-04-13 at 12:51 PM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-04-13, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

See, this is why I also need to read things more closely... BRB Vehicle Damage Table:

This includes vehicle upgrades that function as weapons.

Xabre is offline  
post #23 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-04-13, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Frag assault launchers make the unit count as if it was armed with frag grenades, the vehicle can't use them in any way. At least, that the entry in my BA dex. That make any difference for you there, Magpie?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
 
post #24 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-04-13, 02:46 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Frag assault launchers make the unit count as if it was armed with frag grenades, the vehicle can't use them in any way. At least, that the entry in my BA dex. That make any difference for you there, Magpie?
Yeh it means the grenades have a range of potentially 18" ! LOL

Seriously, though it is a stretch, the unit itself could be throwing grenades.
The launcher however does "function as a weapon"
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #25 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-04-13, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Yeah, it makes sense. Just covering all the bases. It's pretty stupid to have something that provides BA with something every infantry model in the codex has to begin with. On the other hand, one more weapon to count towards weapon destroyed results.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #26 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-04-13, 03:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad View Post
It doesn't really need to be explained.
Grenades are weapons.
Throw a grenade at me-I'm dead! - its a weapon. however how this is supposed to work should be more defined and absolute , not bits of info
scattered between books hinting or leading one to believe or assume how it works-left up to interpretation-I get the feeling I will spend more time
debating the use of this with my opponent than actually using it. and I cant really point at anyone aspect to back me up-they will have to read
each page # between books to draw their own conclusion-like you say it should be a no brainer about this grenade launcher. Just my opinion coming into to this game-on some things a bit more information required-cuz theres just enough left unsaid to invite debate, you experienced members here have a bit of a debate of its use going on-so I would say its not just me. GW a bit less fluff and more nuts-n-bolts info in future books. I just want to play the game....
40koverload is offline  
post #27 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-04-13, 03:34 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
It's pretty stupid to have something that provides BA with something every infantry model in the codex has to begin with.
They are for your Terminators, the main passengers of a Land Raider in most cases, who don't have grenades.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #28 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-04-13, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

It's been so very long since I put my terminators in my Land Raiders.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #29 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-05-13, 05:05 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1
Default

[QUOTE=Magpie_Oz;1392725]One word. Vindicare. (BS8)

Isnt Vindicare assasins Grey knights Codex Only? or can you have one through is it Battle Brothers? -I would like to know Thanks
40koverload is offline  
post #30 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-05-13, 06:59 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

[quote=40koverload;1392961]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
One word. Vindicare. (BS8)

Isnt Vindicare assasins Grey knights Codex Only? or can you have one through is it Battle Brothers? -I would like to know Thanks
You can take one as allies but it will only be Allies of Convenience at best
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome