Tyranid Devourer and leadership - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-01-13, 10:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Igni Ferroque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 218
Reputation: 2
Default Tyranid Devourer and leadership

Had this situation come up the other day.

Devourers note:

"If a unit suffers one or more wounds from a devourer it is required to take a moral check at the end of the phase, it suffers a -1 penalty to its [email protected]

Now say I have 3 units with devourers firing at a single unit, each unit scores multiple wounds on the single target, how much does its leadership drop by?

I usually play that you -1 leadership from each unit that causes wounds with a devourer, so the three units from the scenario would reduce the targets leadership to -3. However on the day I was told this wasn't the case and the unit would only suffer -1 leadership flat. I was told the rule needs to say "cumulative," ie, it doesnt stack.

I argued the case that it was 3 different sets of devourers that were causing these wounds therefore this rule is applied three times by seperate weapons.

Now the way ive read the rule has thrown even me into even more confusion.

The rule states if a "devourer" causes 1 or more wounds they take the debuff. It doesn't state unit, it states a single gun, not multiple guns. So do I do this on a gun by gun basis?

I apologise if this gets contrived but here we go.

Note:
Devourers have 3 shots each.
BLeech Devours have 6 shots each.

Another question, what happens if a unit of 15 gants with 15 devourers shoots a unit and causes 15 wounds? Does the unit suffer -15 leadership debuff? You could argue that 15 individual devourers did a wound. Does he suffer -5 if for every three shots that go through make a full devourer salvo?

To make things simpler, what happens if a hive tyrant with two brainleech worms Devourers causes 10 wounds? He has two devourers equiped, therefore shouldnt the maximum the targets leadership be reduced by be -2? The two devourers have clearly caused enough wounds for them both to have wounded.

The rule clearly states "Devourer," not devourers, a devourer. A single gun. Shouldn't I be getting more of a leadership debuff than I was told in my original scenario?

Even though you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I'm there waiting... and your not coming out alive!
Igni Ferroque is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 12:25 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

The rule for the devourer actually says one or more casualties.

So my take would be that it doesn't matter how may times you are shot or how many different units shoot you/wound you/cause a casualty.

If you suffer at least one casualty then you take a single test and apply a single -1

I'd also be concerned about multi wound models who lose wounds to a Devourer but the shot that actually kills them is something else.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 07-02-13 at 06:01 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 05:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
If a unit suffers one or more wounds from a devourer it is required to take a morale check at the end of the phase, it suffers a -1 penalty to its leadership.
The condition for the morale check and the -1 penalty is only one wound from a Devourer. The mention of the Devourer is clarification that the one wound must come from that weapon. So it is say that any number of wounds from any number of Devourers will only ever cause one -1 penalty.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-13, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Igni Ferroque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 218
Reputation: 2
Default

Yeh knew it would be a bit of a stretch, and yep that was a typo. Guess ive been using the rule wrong. Cheers for the clarification.

Even though you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I'm there waiting... and your not coming out alive!
Igni Ferroque is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome