Hydra autocannons - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default Hydra autocannons

Something that came up in my last game: hydra autocannons have the skyfire rule but don't have intercept... so they can only hit non-flyers on a 6.

Is that right or did I miss something? Personally I thought they had intercept but I can't see anything that gives them that USR...

Tim/Steve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
Something that came up in my last game: hydra autocannons have the skyfire rule but don't have intercept... so they can only hit non-flyers on a 6.

Is that right or did I miss something? Personally I thought they had intercept but I can't see anything that gives them that USR...
is the hydra autocannon taken on the heldrake? if it is, as its a flyer he can choose if he has skyfire or not on a turn to turn basis, that under the flyer section of the brb under special rules.
kickboxerdog is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

um no, its on the hydra...

Tim/Steve is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
madcore's Avatar
madcore's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
Personally I thought they had intercept but I can't see anything that gives them that USR...
They do not have intercept but do nt let that fool you, with sky fire they can also hit skimmers so basically all Necron, DE and Eldar vehicles are good targets, also skimmers and flyers cannot have jink saves (even bikes do not benefit from jink saves)...

for the price they are, they do the job very well...I some times add camo netting behind an aegis defence line and they are pretty survivable (3+ save).

I rarely leave home without at least two...but then again, i play against a lot of skimmers...
madcore is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 04:03 PM Thread Starter
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

ah, hadn't seen that skimmers get hit with full BS too... at least that means they'll usually have some sort of target to hit.

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
um no, its on the hydra...
ha ha ha sorry i misread i thought u said hades autocannon lol
overally the hydra cannons good ive seen it used well but can be left almost usless needing 6s to hit once flyers/skimmers are down , ive noticed them becoming seen more in a few tornnys ive played in, but luckly i run a tau army with no skimmers or flyers
kickboxerdog is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcore View Post
They do not have intercept but do nt let that fool you, with sky fire they can also hit skimmers so basically all Necron, DE and Eldar vehicles are good targets, also skimmers and flyers cannot have jink saves (even bikes do not benefit from jink saves)...
is that a special rule for them ignoring jinx saves??
kickboxerdog is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Yeah, its part of they hydra's rules not the weapon's or skyfire.

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-29-13, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
jams's Avatar
jams's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: behind the sofa
Posts: 971
Reputation: 14
Default

Yep no interceptor, just skyfire

Follow my online ramblings:
Blog: http://crucible-of-fate.blogspot.co.uk/
Twitter: @geochimp
jams is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Tags
flyers , imperial guard , skyfire

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome