Question about Sammael and Second Primary Attachment - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-13, 05:02 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
davespil's Avatar
davespil's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stuck in texas
Posts: 853
Reputation: 2
Default Question about Sammael and Second Primary Attachment

I always thought that if I took Sammael as my HQ then he made all Ravenwing Attack Squads troops. Even those in the Second Primary Detachment. The rule says "In a primary detachment that contains Sammael, Ravenwing Attack Squadrons are troop chioces instead of fast attack choices".

It was pointed out to me on another site that this is incorrect. If I wanted to field a second primary detachment I would have to field two normal troop choices (tac or scout squads). So who is right?

I know this has no bearing on what is wright or wrong but Army Builder agrees with me.

Have guns, will travel...
davespil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-13, 05:47 AM
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite
 
Jacobite's Avatar
Jacobite's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8,082
Reputation: 63
Default

I would say the other forum I'm afraid. RAW says you would need two "normal" troops as its a second detachment. If you are getting to the point where you are playing with two FOC's why not just got Apoc and not worry about it?
Jacobite is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-13, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Judging by what you have in quotes, his FOC re-structuring only affects the detachment Sammael is in. It says "In a primary detachment, etc." not "In an army, etc." The new Eldar codex says that you just need a Farseer in the army to make Wraithguard and Wraithblades Troops. An option for you, though, is to take Sammael in one detachment and Azrael in the other.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-13, 07:31 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Looks like this might be another DA Codex cock up TBH.

It is certainly restricting the troop unlock to the Primary detachment that he is part of.
I note that the Eldar unlocks are "if your army contains" as are Daemons

CSM however are a bit different. Many of the unlocks say "in a primary detachment including ...." but the Chaos sorcerer says "If a primary detachment includes...."

I think that the first wording restricts it to the one detachment but the second means simply so long as there is a Sorcerer in one of you primary dets then you get the troop unlock.

FAQ email time me thinks !

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 06-21-13 at 08:07 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-13, 05:08 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
davespil's Avatar
davespil's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stuck in texas
Posts: 853
Reputation: 2
Default

OK, figured as much. Honestly, when I play Deathwing or Ravenwing I rarely have enough points for a second FoC anyway. I just wanted to get a 2nd librarian on a bike in the army but that would have made it 3 HQs. Not worth it to take the extra troops really.

Have guns, will travel...
davespil is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome