Exarch Power: Disarming Stike: Am I missing something - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 09:35 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stephen.w.langdon's Avatar
stephen.w.langdon's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mansfield, Notthinghamshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 231
Reputation: 10
Default Exarch Power: Disarming Stike: Am I missing something

Ok this is probably me being quite dense but I am reading the rules for this and I can't see what it does,

I am quite sure I know what it should do, but the wording within the rules seem to be saying Nothing

Quote:
Nominate one of your opponent's melee weapons - this is treated as a close combat weapon until the end of the phase.
So basically as I am reading this, it makes a Close Combat Weapon into a Close Combat Weapon?

I am pretty sure that it is meant to mean, "Treat this as the only Close Combat Weapon" or "The Model isn't allowed to use this in Close Combat"

Anyway Help I am Confused more than usual on this one

2013 Games W-/-L-/-D

Eldar 1-/-0-/-0

Orks 2-/-0-/-0
stephen.w.langdon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Styro-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,709
Reputation: 6
Default

Disarm is used to take a special weapon and turn it into a close combat weapon. Close combat weapons have a set profile as per page 51 of the BRB that they are S user and AP - Type melee. So, in that case any special CCW that your opponent intended to use immediately gets replaced with that profile for the phase. Pretty handy.
Styro-J is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 10:01 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
stephen.w.langdon's Avatar
stephen.w.langdon's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mansfield, Notthinghamshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 231
Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Styro-J I completly missed that :Laugh: need to kick my brain into gear I think

Maybe I need more Coffee

2013 Games W-/-L-/-D

Eldar 1-/-0-/-0

Orks 2-/-0-/-0
stephen.w.langdon is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Partybear's Avatar
Partybear's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 143
Reputation: 1
Default

Here is a thought, if your opponent was wielding an unwieldy weapon, by disarming you would potentially be giving them an additional attack!

Play the Game Fool!!
Partybear is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Desolatemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,195
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Partybear View Post
Here is a thought, if your opponent was wielding an unwieldy weapon, by disarming you would potentially be giving them an additional attack!


Oh well, I would rather take an extra S~4 AP- hit than the alternative.

"Bide your time and hold out hope"
-The Count of Monte Cristo
Desolatemm is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 02:22 PM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolatemm View Post


Oh well, I would rather take an extra S~4 AP- hit than the alternative.
I disarmed a Warscythe last week 3 turns in a row, it was glorious.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
The Sturk's Avatar
The Sturk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Reputation: 9
Default

Kind of needed since you would be most likely dead otherwise.
The Sturk is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-21-13, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Partybear View Post
Here is a thought, if your opponent was wielding an unwieldy weapon, by disarming you would potentially be giving them an additional attack!
Unwieldy doesn't reduce the number of attacks. It reduces the Initiative. You're thinking of the rule that makes certain weapons only get an extra attack for dual-wielding the same weapon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
I disarmed a Warscythe last week 3 turns in a row, it was glorious.
That is awesome and certainly what I invision the power being intended for. But we need to watch out for the dual Lightning Claw guys. Disarming one doesn't help much there.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-21-13, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
iamtheeviltwin's Avatar
iamtheeviltwin's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Beyond the Pale
Posts: 992
Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
That is awesome and certainly what I invision the power being intended for. But we need to watch out for the dual Lightning Claw guys. Disarming one doesn't help much there.
Since both weapons have to be specialist weapons to get the +1A, by disarming and leaving the opponent with a CCW and a Specialist weapon they would lose the bonus attack. (This works with any pair of specialist weapons claw/fist for example)

Servants of the Laughing God (Harlequin Themed Eldar Army)
First Eastern Mirage Corps (C:SM)
I am the Evil Project Log (All my work since restarting the hobby)
The Crusade of Morr (WFB Empire Battle Reports)
Dem Bones (Dice Rolling Program)
iamtheeviltwin is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-21-13, 03:14 PM
Senior Moderator
 
darkreever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey, little ways out of NYC
Posts: 6,990
Reputation: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamtheeviltwin View Post
Since both weapons have to be specialist weapons to get the +1A, by disarming and leaving the opponent with a CCW and a Specialist weapon they would lose the bonus attack. (This works with any pair of specialist weapons claw/fist for example)
True, but I think he's more reffering to the fact that you only need one claw to get the rerolls. Having two, and then that being reduced to one in this case would be unable to prevent that.

Damnation is paved on good intentions; subtle and sugar coated or blunt and honest
A hero is someone who steps up when everyone else backs down.
Popularity is what people strive for when they lack the strength to be themselves.


Seriously, is it really that hard to write reviews without spoilers?

Reporting Posts - read this
darkreever is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome