Remnants of Glory + eldar farseer.. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-12-13, 10:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1
Default Remnants of Glory + eldar farseer..

Hey guys if u add on "Mantle of the laughing god" to an eldar farseer, the codex says it loses its IC special rule... does this mean he does not count as an HQ? Or he is still an HQ he just has to be added to a certain squad? ty
Snoopdeville3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-12-13, 11:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Desolatemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,195
Reputation: 2
Default

Still an HQ

Cannot be joined with ANY squad because he is no longer an IC.

Means anyone with the mantle is all by themselves.

"Bide your time and hold out hope"
-The Count of Monte Cristo
Desolatemm is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-12-13, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1
Default

ooo ok makes sense tyvm!
Snoopdeville3 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 12:59 AM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolatemm View Post
Still an HQ

Cannot be joined with ANY squad because he is no longer an IC.

Means anyone with the mantle is all by themselves.
Not quite, another IC may join him. Unless I am missing something.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 01:14 AM
Senior Member
 
iamtheeviltwin's Avatar
iamtheeviltwin's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Beyond the Pale
Posts: 992
Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
Not quite, another IC may join him. Unless I am missing something.
First paragraph of the independent character rules:

"Independent Characters can join other units. They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see page 77) or units that always consist of a single model. (such as most vehicles or Monstrous Creatures). They can join other Independent Characters, though, to form a powerful multi-character unit."

The bolded part is the important part. Once taking on the mantle the Independent Character becomes just a character, a single model unit much like a Wraithlord. This is the same as characters such as Mephiston. Powerful buggers who walk alone.

Servants of the Laughing God (Harlequin Themed Eldar Army)
First Eastern Mirage Corps (C:SM)
I am the Evil Project Log (All my work since restarting the hobby)
The Crusade of Morr (WFB Empire Battle Reports)
Dem Bones (Dice Rolling Program)
iamtheeviltwin is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-20-13, 01:36 AM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamtheeviltwin View Post
First paragraph of the independent character rules:

"Independent Characters can join other units. They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see page 77) or units that always consist of a single model. (such as most vehicles or Monstrous Creatures). They can join other Independent Characters, though, to form a powerful multi-character unit."

The bolded part is the important part. Once taking on the mantle the Independent Character becomes just a character, a single model unit much like a Wraithlord. This is the same as characters such as Mephiston. Powerful buggers who walk alone.
Doh i somehow forgot about that.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome