Witchfire and Deny the Witch
Recently, at our local 40k shop there has been a dispute over witchfire abilities and deny the witch. The argument that has arisen is that when a psyker like Fateweaver manifests a witchfire (i.e. Flickering Fire of Tzeentch) he is targeting himself with the psychic ability and if the test is passed he then can shoot the weapons granted by the psychic power. Based on this reasoning the argument concludes that you cannot take a deny the witch save against witchfire abilities because the unit that is shot at isn't targeted by the ability.
I argue that the witchfire ability does target an enemy unit and they are allowed to take a deny the witch save. This is due to the order of manifesting psychic powers on page 67 in the small rulebook; (1) Expend Warp Charge, (2) Declare Target, (3) Take Psychic test, (4) Deny the Witch, (5) Resolve Psychic Power. Since there is only one point where the psyker can declare a target if he doesn't choose an enemy model/unit it would have no effect. Additionally, I argued that since in the 40k rulebook errata beam psychic powers confer a deny the witch save then all witchfire abilities should as well.
These arguments have reached a stalemate and I need some outside views on the situation.
2nd Question: Based on the wording in the small rulebook on page 69 for witchfires "If a witchfire does not list a subtype, or simply describes itself as a psychic shooting attack, use the rules given above to resolve it." Then would I be able to take a deny the witch save against Blood Angel abilities that list themselves as psychic shooting attacks (i.e. Blood Boil, Fear of the Dark, etc.).