transport disembarking / movement clarification - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-13, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jam123456's Avatar
Jam123456's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 207
Reputation: 2
Default transport disembarking / movement clarification

transport disembarking, ok i did a search but couldn't find the answer i was looking for but i'm sure it must be up on here please direct me to it if you know where it is.

I'm reading the rules under disembarking on page 79 BRB

it says:-

Disembarking
A unit that begins its movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark
either before or after the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot etc) so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6".

now page 71 of the BRB says:-

a vehicle that only pivots on the spot in the movement phase counts as stationary.


Therefore I would like to know

Is the meaning that if I only pivot before disembarking the pivot then counts as movement and I cant move that vehicle any further in the movement phase.

Or

Is the meaning that if i only pivot before disembarking it doesn't count as movement and I can then disembark the unit and then after move the vehicle as normal.

Thanks
Jam123456 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-13, 05:22 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

You can't pivot, disembark then move.

A pivot is clearly a move and the P79 rules say you can't move any further if you move before disembarking troops. The P71 rule isn't saying that pivotting does not count as a move, its saying that its ignored if the only move you have made is a pivot (ie pivoting doesn't detract from shooting).

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-03-13, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default

The vehicle could flat out move in the shooting phase though.

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-04-13, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jam123456's Avatar
Jam123456's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 207
Reputation: 2
Default

ok well thats as i thought shame as eldar have exit at rear but never mind. sure i can work out tactics with two jumping over each other and leap frogging.
Jam123456 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-05-13, 12:45 AM
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suijin View Post
The vehicle could flat out move in the shooting phase though.
incorrect
pg 79BRB "rfthe vehicle had already
moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move
further (including pivoting on the spot)

so it cannot flat out
fatmantis is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-05-13, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jam123456's Avatar
Jam123456's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 207
Reputation: 2
Default

From the rules i think if the unit disembarks from the vehicle after it has moved you can't flat out.

If it didn't move or it only pivoted in can still flat out.
Jam123456 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-06-13, 07:55 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatmantis View Post
incorrect
pg 79BRB "rfthe vehicle had already
moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move
further (including pivoting on the spot)

so it cannot flat out
I'm not so sure. The vehicle could have pivoted but that doesn't count as moving so the vehicle hasn't moved before the unit disembarked, it has ended it's movement phase tho'.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-06-13, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I'm not so sure. The vehicle could have pivoted but that doesn't count as moving so the vehicle hasn't moved before the unit disembarked, it has ended it's movement phase tho'.
well mags, i see it this way, if you wish to move your vehicle or simply "pivot" then you choose to do another action with another unit you would have "finished" movement with the vehicle,yes i know pivoting is not a movement but in this case it is clearly counted as one,so i cant see how you can "pivot" then disembark a unit the move the tank then flat out, i think that's stretching it a bit. i think it s quite clear, you have to make a choice either to
a: disembark-then the tanks cant flat out - as it "cant move further"
b: move the tank and flat out

i look at it this way, like chess once you taken your hand off the piece that's it finished.
fatmantis is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-06-13, 12:49 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

You can turbo boost if you pivot before disembarking. The rule on P71 means that at the end of the moving phase you count as being stationary through the movement phase if you only pivot.... so by the time you turbo boost you "didn't" move before disembarking. As this kicks in at the end of the movement phase that doesn't allow you to do a standard move after disembark.


Of course there is the counter argument that you haven't "only" pivoted as you've also disembarked a unit... to me that's an action for the unit not the transport but if someone wants to split hairs and argue there's not a lot I can see to prove it one way or other.

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-06-13, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jam123456's Avatar
Jam123456's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 207
Reputation: 2
Default

i would agree with mags and tim/steve on this.

pivot isn't movement so i think it probably needs a FAQ update to clarify for sure however i read it as if the unit disembarks from the vehicle after it has moved you can't flat out.
If it didn't move or it only pivoted before disembarkation in can still flat out. the disembarking is movement by the unit in the transport not the transport.
still not worth taking star engines on eldar.
Jam123456 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Tags
disembarking , transport

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome