Whoops! Contradiction in Disruption Pod rules - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-20-13, 04:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 364
Reputation: 8
Default Whoops! Contradiction in Disruption Pod rules

Finally got my Tau Codex. As is my wont, immediately found a bug :/

The rules for the Disruption Pod (CTE p.72) say it gives +1 to cover saves. Nice and simple.
Unfortunately, in the summary pull-out at the back, it says they confer Stealth.

The problem here is that, as I read it, Stealth can't stack with itself, so if you have Night Fighting up and are at Stealth range, one version gives you an additional +1 to your Cover Save, and the other doesn't.

Of course, this is less of a problem if I've misread Stealth itself (BRB p.42). It says that bonuses from Stealth and Shrouded are cumulative, but I'm not sure if that's meant to mean Stealth is cumulative with another Steath from a different source.

Gah, I've gone cross-eyed.

Armies and other stuff:
http://majere613.deviantart.com/
Short stories and writing:
http://thetheleniccurriculum.blogspot.co.uk/
My novel, The Wake of Manadar, on Kindle:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...=1&*entries*=0
Majere613 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-20-13, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

That is a major difference. You are right, Stealth doesn't stack with itself.
psactionman is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-21-13, 05:02 AM
Member
pattywhacker's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 30
Reputation: 1
Default

It becomes even more major when you take Piranhas into account. If it just gives +1 to cover saves, it needs to be bought on every Piranha in a squad, but if it gives Stealth only a single Disruption Pod needs to be bought for a 5-man Piranha squad. Keep that one safe in the middle and while its alive they all have Stealth. Saves 60 points.
pattywhacker is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-21-13, 01:05 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

The pull out sections are notorious for being wrong. They change something in the rules but forget to change the reference section. I'd disregard it and count them as +1 cover.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-21-13, 01:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 364
Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
The pull out sections are notorious for being wrong. They change something in the rules but forget to change the reference section. I'd disregard it and count them as +1 cover.
I'm inclined to agree, at least until such time as they Errata it, which one would hope they do.
Probably the best argument I can come up with in favour of taking the version from the main book over that in the reference section is that the reference section points you back to the main Codex anyway, suggesting that p 72 should take precedence.

Shame though that something so very useful just manages to cause more confusion. Plus ca change, plus ca meme chose and all that.

Armies and other stuff:
http://majere613.deviantart.com/
Short stories and writing:
http://thetheleniccurriculum.blogspot.co.uk/
My novel, The Wake of Manadar, on Kindle:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...=1&*entries*=0
Majere613 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome