Extra weapons? (Space marines) - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
ipwnuevryday's Avatar
ipwnuevryday's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 52
Reputation: 2
Default Extra weapons? (Space marines)

I was looking through the picture section in Codex: Blood Angels and I saw that some models had both boltguns and power fists, if this is legal, then how come not all sergeants/veterans have multiple weapons (as chainswords are free). The Army List section seemed unclear about this being legal. For Tactical Marines it says that "the sergeant may replace boltgun and/or bolt pistol with:". Does this mean I can swap his bolt pistol for a power fist and still keep the boltgun? Also, in the case of Assault Marines, can I give the sergeant both a bolt pistol and a hand flamer? Any help would be greatly appreciated


Whoever says nothing is more powerful than love has obviously never heard of demolisher cannons.
ipwnuevryday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 11:54 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Yep and/or means you can replace either or both.

So Bolt Pistol and Chainsword can be swapped for whatever is in the list.

If you swap out your pistol and sword you could take two hand flamers if you wanted for example.
Or you could have 1 hand flamer and a bolt pistol or a hand flamer and a chainsword.

same with the normal sgt he can have a bolter and power fist
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
ipwnuevryday's Avatar
ipwnuevryday's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 52
Reputation: 2
Default

If that's so, then why doesn't everyone do that all the time? (As in chainsword/similar upgrade + boltgun)


Whoever says nothing is more powerful than love has obviously never heard of demolisher cannons.
ipwnuevryday is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 12:09 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipwnuevryday View Post
If that's so, then why doesn't everyone do that all the time? (As in chainsword/similar upgrade + boltgun)
who doesn't?

I certainly do. All my Sgts have a Ranged weapon and a CCW of some type. SM's are usually Power fist and Plasma Pistol for me.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
ipwnuevryday's Avatar
ipwnuevryday's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 52
Reputation: 2
Default

In the picture section of the Blood Angels codex, there's a tactical sergeant with a bolt pistol and a power fist. Why would you do that instead of giving him a boltgun? Does it give him an extra CC attack?


Whoever says nothing is more powerful than love has obviously never heard of demolisher cannons.
ipwnuevryday is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 12:23 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipwnuevryday View Post
In the picture section of the Blood Angels codex, there's a tactical sergeant with a bolt pistol and a power fist. Why would you do that instead of giving him a boltgun? Does it give him an extra CC attack?
No because the Power Fist is a Specialist Weapon it doesn't get an extra attack.

The advantage with a bolt pistol, and it's my rationale behind giving them a Plasma Pistol, is that they get to shoot and still charge.

It's a pretty common tactic to have the squad fire their pistols and then charge in, if the Sgt only has a bolter he can't shoot.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 12:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
ipwnuevryday's Avatar
ipwnuevryday's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 52
Reputation: 2
Default

Thanks a lot for the help, I almost gave my tactical sergeant just a boltgun. The character is a bit crazy and I'm glad I can give him more power in close combat. (I'll be posting about his fluff soon enough)


Whoever says nothing is more powerful than love has obviously never heard of demolisher cannons.
ipwnuevryday is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 12:35 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Looking forward to what you come up with.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
No because the Power Fist is a Specialist Weapon it doesn't get an extra attack.
It wasn't when this codex was released. Now that it is, you may as well put a bolter with a power fist as you're not getting the extra attack anyways.

In a directly aesthetic decision I made my Tactical sergeants all have bolters and chainswords. Useless, I know. Cool looking? Aw yea. If only chainswords were AP6 at least...

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
who doesn't?

I certainly do. All my Sgts have a Ranged weapon and a CCW of some type. SM's are usually Power fist and Plasma Pistol for me.
Srsly. I used the and/or combined with an "Any model may take" to give Captain Khan a Command Squad on bikes with plasma/melta guns, thunder hammers, and storm shields. And/or is your friend.
psactionman is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome