Extra weapons? (Space marines) - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 05:32 PM
Senior Member
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16

Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
It wasn't when this codex was released. Now that it is, you may as well put a bolter with a power fist as you're not getting the extra attack anyways.

In a directly aesthetic decision I made my Tactical sergeants all have bolters and chainswords. Useless, I know. Cool looking? Aw yea. If only chainswords were AP6 at least...
Power Fists have prevented the bonus from 2 Close Combat Weapons for about ten years now, so I can't support the "Wasn't when the codex came out" issue. As for the pistol, yes, it supports firing then charging, but cuts a shot out during Overwatch. I usually equip with Power Sword, Bolt Pistol, and Melta bombs for my Sgt. builds.
Creon is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 05:47 PM Thread Starter
ipwnuevryday's Avatar
ipwnuevryday's Flag is: Ireland
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 52
Reputation: 2

Originally Posted by ipwnuevryday View Post
The character is a bit crazy and I'm glad I can give him more power in close combat. (I'll be posting about his fluff soon enough)
I finished him today and I have just posted his backstory here: https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...46#post1355346

Whoever says nothing is more powerful than love has obviously never heard of demolisher cannons.
ipwnuevryday is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-03-13, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3

Originally Posted by ipwnuevryday View Post
In the picture section of the Blood Angels codex, there's a tactical sergeant with a bolt pistol and a power fist. Why would you do that instead of giving him a boltgun? Does it give him an extra CC attack?
This is most likely because this used to grant an additional attack in I believe 4th? and lots of people modeled it that way and just kept it. It also allows you to shoot before assaulting. I however prefer the combi bolter on my SM sgts with the power fist.

Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome